Subject: Monday Matters - College of Sciences Awards

Date: Monday, January 24, 2022 at 8:00:31 AM Eastern Standard Time

From: Dodge, Gail
To: Dodge, Gail

CC: Hynes, Wayne L., Whitfield, Tiffany L., Franke, Gabriel

Attachments: COS 2022 Awards.pdf, Hirschfeld Award.pdf

Dear Colleagues:

Please consider nominating yourself or a colleague for one of the 12 College of Sciences awards listed below:

- Distinguished Research Award
- Early Career Distinguished Research Award
- Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year
- Distinguished Teaching Awards (four distinct awards)
 - 1. Tenured
 - 2. Tenure-track
 - 3. Lecturer
 - 4. Adjunct
- · Outstanding Advisor of the Year
- Outstanding Staff Member of the Year
- Lee Entsminger Outstanding Ph.D. Dissertation Award
- · Outstanding M.S. Thesis Award
- Gene W. Hirschfeld Faculty Excellence Award (every other year, 2022 is an award year)

A short description of each award is attached. Each award includes a monetary stipend. Nominations are limited to one per Department for each award. The deadline for the Chair to submit nominations to the College is March 15, 2022.

The <u>College website</u> lists the awards and the two most recent winners. We will also make available to the Chairs a list of winners that goes back further in time. I would really love to see one nomination per department for each award this year. Please take the time to honor your colleagues for their accomplishments.

Best Regards, Gail

Gail Dodge Dean, College of Sciences Old Dominion University gdodge@odu.edu 757-683-3432