[ skip to content ]

Applying for In-State Tuition

Students whose status changes with the University must submit a new application for in-state tuition.

For example, if your status changes from non-degree to degree-seeking, undergraduate to graduate student, or there is a change in graduate program, a new application form must be submitted.

Active Duty Military

Active duty military, activated guard or reservist members, or guard or reservist members mobilized or on temporary active orders for six months or more, who are stationed or assigned by their military service to a Virginia work location/military installation, and are residing in Virginia, are eligible for the in-state tuition rate.


Applying for In-State Tuition

It is the responsibility of the student to establish or to file an appeal to change his or her residency classification prior to the start of classes for the term in question. Students should begin the classification process at least 21 days before the term but in no case can a request be considered after the first day of classes. State law prohibits retroactive consideration of domicile.

To apply for in-state tuition rates, please review the University's policy on residency determination and complete the Application for In-State Tuition. The application is also available from the Registrar's Office, Rollins Hall, or distance learning students may obtain the form from their site director.

The completed form should be submitted to the Office of the University Registrar, 116 Rollins Hall, Old Dominion University, Norfolk VA 23529-0053 or faxed to (757) 683-5357 prior to the first day of classes for the term in question.

Code of Virginia

The University makes its decisions according to the applicable state law (Section 23-7.4 of the Code of Virginia), guidelines specific to that law, and within procedures developed to conform with requirements of law. Copies of University procedures and the State law are available in the Reserve department of the University Libraries. The state code is also available at the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia.

Domicile Decisions & Rate Assessment

In-state tuition rates are a privilege granted by the Code of Virginia and are awarded only upon application for in-state rates. The student's primary purpose in moving to Virginia must have been to establish him- or herself as a resident of Virginia. Residence must have been continuous for 365 days preceding the first day of classes. Students must apply for in-state tuition rates in order to qualify, and application deadlines apply. Students who fail to apply for in-state privileges will be billed at the out-of-state rate. Upon approval, rates will be revised appropriately. Refer to the Registrar's web page for more details.

Pending Domicile Decisions

Students with pending domicile decisions are responsible for paying tuition for at least the in-state rate by the tuition deadline. Once the domicile decision is made, if the student is classified at the out-of-state rate, the difference between the in-state and out-of-state rate will be due immediately. Students should not wait until the final domicile decision is made to pay tuition.