[ skip to content ]


Graduate Appeals Committee

The Graduate Appeals Committee is made up of six faculty members who represent each of the academic colleges and one representative from the Faculty Senate. Please see below for the names of the current committee members.

Committee Members
As of 9/1/2011

Gayle McCombs, Chair
Dental Hygiene
Health Sciences

Abdelmageed Elmustafa
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
College of Engineering and Technology

Myron Glassman
College of Business and Public Administration

Elliott Jones
College of Arts and Letters

Gary Morrison
STEM ED/Professional Studies
College of Education

Charles Sukenik
College of Sciences

Gianluca De Leo
Faculty Senate Representative

Graduate Administrators Council

The Graduate Administrators Council (GAC) will review and make recommendations to strengthen and simplify current University standards, rules, policies and procedures governing graduate education. GAC will also review centralized administrative processes and structure to ensure all areas related to graduate education administration are accountable to the Vice Provost for Graduate and Undergraduate Education. They will also develop a graduate program director's handbook and provide training for new and continuing graduate program directors. From the 2000-2004 ODU Strategic Plan

2013 - 2014 Members

Brenda Neumon Lewis, Associate Vice President for Graduate Studies, Chair

Brian Payne, Vice Provost for Undergraduate and Graduate Academic Programs

Jane Dané, Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management

Robert Wojtowicz, Associate Dean, COAL

Imtiaz Habib, Graduate Program Director, English MA Program, COAL

Dawn Rothe, Graduate Program Director, Sociology and Criminal Justice, COAL (Alternate)

Ali Ardalan, Associate Dean, COBPA

David Selover, Graduate Program Director, Economics, COBPA

Gail Dickinson, Associate Dean, DCOE

Lynn Ridinger, Graduate Program Director, Human Movement Sciences, DCOE

Shirshak Dhali, Associate Dean, BCOET

Isao Ishibashi, Graduate Program Director, Civil and Environmental Engineering, BCOET

Richardean Benjamin, Associate Dean, COHS

Carolyn Rutledge, Director, DNP Advanced Practice Program, Co-Director DNP Executive Program and MSN Administrator Program, COHS

Bonnie Van Lunen, Graduate Program Director, Athletic Training, COHS (Alternate)

Ravi Mukkamala, Associate Dean, COS

Craig Bayse, Graduate Program Director, Chemistry and Biochemistry, COS

Bill Heffelfinger, Director of Graduate Admissions

Mary K. Swartz, University Registrar

GAC Meeting Minutes