Diversity Champions Nominations

Old Dominion University recognizes the inherent value of diversity and inclusion in the classroom, workplace, and community and will recognize Diversity Champions each semester.  Designed to honor and celebrate individuals who encourage and advance the principles of Inclusive Excellence, the Diversity Champion award will promote the positive impact diversity and inclusion has upon our university community.


The Office of Institutional Equity and Diversity invites members of the University community to nominate individuals from the following categories: 



Please submit nominations for the fall Diversity Champions recognition by November 1, 2013


The 2012-13 recipients were:


Staff:                           Pat Beauter, Cpt. Richard Cox and Sheila Haqq


Faculty:                       Dr. Ling Li, Dr. Debra Major, Dr. Garrett McAulifee, Dr. Berhanu                                                           Mengistu, Dr. Chris Platsoucas and Dr. Gregory Selby


Students:                    Sara Nobles, Wendy Scott, Ta”Niesha “Tanny” Simmons and

                                    David Williams-Tortolini


Community:                Dr. Agnes Moon, and Dr. Dilip Sarkar


Administrators:          Don Stansberry, Bruce Stewart, Sr. and Denisse Thillet


Additionally, in the spring we will present the President’s Award for Diversity to our “Diversity Champion of Champions;” the recipient who personifies diversity and inclusion at Old Dominion.    Dr. Ed Gomez in Human Movement Sciences was the 2012-2013 recipient.

We are confident that you will be able to identify several members of the Old Dominion and Hampton Roads community whose commitment to diversity and inclusion is worthy of recognition.

Click on the link below to complete the nomination form.


* Flier - Nominations - announcement.pub  (150 KB)

Posted By: Lynn Smith
Date: Mon Oct 14 16:27:12 EDT 2013