[ skip to content ]

Faculty Research Achievement Award Winner

Annual Faculty Research Award

In recognition of the contributions of researchers at Old Dominion University, a Research Achievement Award is presented annually. This year's award was presented at the Faculty Awards Dinner in May 2014 to Ian Balitsky, professor of physics.


The Research Achievement Award is presented each spring to a tenured member of the ODU faculty who has exhibited consistent excellence in his/her research efforts. The purpose of the award is to recognize the accomplishments of faculty who achieve national prominence for high-quality research and scholarship.

Eligibility and Selection Criteria

All full-time tenured members of the faculty with at least five years service at ODU are eligible for the award. Full career accomplishments will be considered when a nominee is judged but special evaluative emphasis will be placed upon research actually done while the individual was at this university.

The evaluation of nominees will be based primarily upon consistent research quality. The primary indicators of quality are peer scholar judgments, evidenced by publications of articles in refereed journals, publications of books and monographs by nationally competitive publishing houses, awards and citations by professional associations, and positive reviews of funded research proposals. Simple quantitative measures, such as the number of articles published or the dollar value of grants and contracts generated, are not sufficient evidence of research quality. In addition, consideration will be given to non-professional acclaim for the outcome of research endeavors.

Call for Nominations

Nominations for the 2015 award, together with supporting documentation, should be sent to the Office of Research, 4111 Monarch Way, Suite 203, Norfolk, Va, 23508 attn: Lisa Alloway, by Friday, February 13, 2015. The nominating faculty member or administrator should write a short statement explaining why the researcher should receive the award and outline the significance of the nominee's research contributions. In addition to this statement, a CV should be submitted. Seven copies of the nomination package should be included. Please do not bind or put the nomination package in a binder or folder. Please forward an electronic copy, as well, to Lisa Alloway.

Faculty Research Award Recipients

  • 2014 Ian Balitsky, Quantum Chromodynamics
  • 2013 Stacie Raymer, Communication Disorders & Special Education
  • 2012 Sheri Colberg-Ochs, Human Movement Sciences
  • 2011 Gary Edgerton, Communications and Theatre Arts and Li-Shi Luo, Mathematics and Statistics
  • 2010 Nancy Xu, Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • 2009 Mounir Laroussi, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 2009 Lawrence Hatab, Philosophy
  • 2008 Sebastian Kuhn, Physics
  • 2007 Gregory Cutter, Ocean, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
  • 2006 Rocco Schiavilla, Physics
  • 2005 Chester E. Grosch, Ocean, Earth & Atmospheric Sciences and Dept. of Computer Sciences
  • 2004 Thomas F. Cash, Psychology
  • 2003 Wayne K. Talley, Economics
  • 2002 Ravindra Joshi, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 2001 John A. Doukas, Finance
  • 2000 Hani Elsayed-Ali, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 1999 Cynthia M. Jones, Biological Sciences
  • 1998 Anatoly V. Radyushkin, Physics
  • 1997 Chuh Mei, Aerospace Engineering
  • 1996 Eileen Hofmann, Oceanography
  • 1995 Robert Gable, Child Study/Special Education
  • 1995 John R. Holsinger, Biological Sciences
  • 1994 Kenneth G. Brown ,Chemical Sciences
  • 1993 Daniel M. Dauer, Biological Sciences
  • 1992 Mark D. Havey, Physics
  • 1992 Karl H. Schoenbach, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • 1991 Daniel N. Sonenshine, Biological Sciences
  • 1990 Harold Marshall, Biological Sciences
  • 1990 Surendra N. Tiwari, Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics
  • 1989 Govind S. Khandelwal, Physics
  • 1988 Raymond W. Alden, Jr. Biological Sciences
  • 1987 Alf J. Mapp, Jr. English
  • 1986 Earl A. Thornton, Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics
  • 1985 Lytton Musselman, Biological Sciences