[ skip to content ]


Faculty and Students Recognized at Awards Ceremony

The ODU Darden College of Education recognized the achievements of outstanding faculty members and students during a special ceremony at 5 p.m., on Wednesday, May 7 in the Ted Constant Convocation Center's Big Blue Room. The award-winners honored exemplify how ODU students and faculty make a positive impact on real world challenges facing our society. They are leaders and innovators effecting change and improving the lives of those around them. Over 60 awards were presented, and recent DCOE retirees were also honored.

Faculty and students were recognized from each of the College's departments.

Faculty Awards:

  • Publications Award -- Dr. Sheri Colberg-Ochs
  • Instructional Publications Award -- Dr. Edward Neukrug
  • Service Award -- Dr. Tammi Milliken
  • Teaching Innovation and Excellence Award -- Dr. Laurie Craigen
  • New Investigator or Contract Award -- Drs. Peter Baker and Angela Eckhoff
  • Largest Grant Award -- Drs. Daniel Dickerson, Joanna Garner and Richard Whittecar
  • Most Collaborative Award -- Drs. Stephen Shapiro, Edwin Gomez, Eddie Hill and Lynn Ridinger
  • Sara and Rufus Tonelson Award -- Dr. Cheryl Baker

Student Awards:

  • Alumni Association Outstanding College Scholar -- Christina Guison
  • Virginia Scholars Award-Delta Kappa Gamma Society for Women in Education & Teacher of Promise -- Morgan Hall

Teacher Education Services

  • Teacher of Promise Elementary Education General PreK -- Johnnie Lynn Hineman
  • Teacher of Promise Military Career Transition-Secondary Education -- Joshua Horwitz
  • Teacher of Promise Elementary Education PreK-6 -- Amanda Hunley
  • Teacher of Promise Secondary Education (6-12) -- Social Studies: Joshua Petrice
  • Teacher of Promise Graduate Special Education -- Caitlin Taylor

Counseling and Human Services

  • Outstanding Doctoral Student in Counseling Award -- Katherine Heimsch
  • Outstanding Master's Student in Counseling Award -- Halley Maza
  • Outstanding Human Services Student Award -- Lauren Shifrin

Educational Foundations and Leadership

  • Outstanding Educational Specialist Graduate Student -- Michael J. Baczynski
  • Outstanding Graduate -Higher Education Administration -- Scott Bye
  • Outstanding Doctoral Student -Higher Education -- Michael DeBowes
  • Outstanding Doctoral Student -Educational Leadership -- Raymond L. Haynes
  • Outstanding Master's Student -Educational Leadership -- Michelle Louise Pollak
  • Higher Education Program -Most Important Contribution Award -- Shyrah J. Thomas

Human Movement Sciences

  • Michael A. Dean Academic Excellence Award in Health & Physical Education -- Jon Beebe
  • Academic Excellence Award in Park and Recreation Management -- Darby Charles
  • Graduate Award for Academic Excellence in Health and Physical Education Curriculum & Instruction -- Colleen Cherry
  • Rachel E. Scher Service Award in Sport Management -- Lamarr Coles
  • Graduate Academic Excellence Award in Sport Management -- Dorothy "Dot" Collins
  • Graduate Award for Academic Excellence in Athletic Training -- Michael Gabriner
  • Academic Excellence in Exercise Science -- Christina Guison
  • Melvin H. Williams Endowed Scholarship in Exercise Science -- James A. Luker
  • Graduate Award for Academic Excellence in Exercise Science and Wellness -- Jacquelyn Moxey
  • Academic Excellence Award in Therapeutic Recreation -- Clarissa Peagler
  • Academic Excellence Award in Sport Management -- Addie Williams
  • Academic Excellence Award in Tourism Management -- Taylor Williams

STEM Education and Professional Studies

  • Outstanding Technology Education -- Paul Beck
  • Technology Education Award for Academic Excellence -- Diana V. Cantu
  • Outstanding Fashion Merchandising Graduate Award -- Liese Marie Davenport
  • Alan Mandell Endowed Award for Industrial Design & Technology -- Rachel Desmarais
  • Alan Mandell Endowed Award for Industrial Design & Technology -- Don Robison
  • W. Lee Bullard Prize Endowment for Marketing Education -- Jennifer Lazernick
  • Outstanding Marketing Student Education Award -- Jennifer McCoy-Lovern
  • Outstanding Industrial Technology Student Award -- James Mitchell
  • Alan Mandell Award in Science Education -- Emma Needham
  • Outstanding Training Specialist Award -- Jeannie Skelton

Teaching and Learning

  • Katharine Kersey Award -- Sueann Barros
  • Outstanding Graduate Student in PK-6 Education Award -- Michael Bjorklund
  • Bamforth Scholarship Award Caitlyn Bartz
  • Outstanding Graduate Student in Early Childhood Education Award -- Megan Gallagher
  • Betty Yarborough Outstanding Graduate Student in Reading Education Award -- Kristen Gregory
  • Outstanding Curriculum and Instruction Ph.D. Student Award -- Stephanie Hathcock
  • Outstanding Student Virginia Education Association Student Award -- Sabrina Eckerson Hayes
  • Outstanding Military Career Transition Program (MCTP) Student Award -- Lenea Key-Johnson
  • Outstanding Social Studies Student Award -- Joshua M. Petrice
  • Carol V. DeRolf Early Childhood Education Award -- Lauren Sharp
  • Outstanding Graduate Student in Library Science Award -- Debra Zager

Communication Disorders and Special Education

  • Outstanding Graduate Student in Speech-Language Pathology Award -- Meredith Berwanger
  • Outstanding Graduate Student in Speech-Language Pathology Award & the Nicholas and Martha Bountress Award for Clinical Achievement -- Ann Nottingham
  • Martha Mullins-Callender Award -- Courtney Fairing
  • Outstanding Student in Special Education (Early Childhood/Severe Disabilities) -- Kristen Hampton
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Student in Speech Pathology & Audiology -- Ashley Lauder
  • Outstanding Student in Special Education (Mild Disabilities) -- Caitlin Taylor

Darden Retirees

  • Dr. Cheryl S. Baker -- Communication Disorders & Special Education
  • Carole Ballard Brady -- Children's Learning & Research Center
  • Dr. Carol A. Doll -- Teaching and Learning
  • BettyAnne Ward -- Children's Learning and Research Center