[ skip to content ]

Darden College of Education:Administration

Jane Bray

    Dean, Darden College of Education
  • 218 Education Building
  • Norfolk, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3938
  • jsbray@odu.edu

Gail Dickinson

    Associate Dean, Graduate Studies & Research
  • 145 Education Building
  • Norfolk, VA 23529
  • 757-683-6777
  • gdickins@odu.edu

Bob Spina

    Associate Dean, Undergraduate Studies & Assessment
  • 218 Education Building
  • Norfolk, VA 23529
  • 757-683-7052
  • rspina@odu.edu

Leigh Butler

    Assistant Dean, Teacher Education Services
  • 152 Education Building
  • Norfolk, VA 23529
  • 757-683-6448
  • lbutler@odu.edu

Carmela Casey

    Business Manager
  • 218 Education Bldg
  • Norfolk, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3297
  • ccasey@odu.edu

Carolyn Davis

    Budget & Enrollment Manager
  • 216b Education Building
  • Norfolk, VA 23529
  • 757-683-6258
  • ckdavis@odu.edu

Tia Freeman

    Director of Marketing & Communications
  • 218 Education Building
  • Norfolk, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3519
  • tfreeman@odu.edu

Elizabeth Gordon

    Data Coordinator
  • 120 Education Building
  • Norfolk, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3938
  • ejgordon@odu.edu

Brian Hodson

    Director of Information Technology
  • 134b Education Building
  • Norfolk, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5684
  • bhodson@odu.edu

Gaynell Spinner


Ladonna Judkins

    Executive Assistant to the Dean
  • 218 Education Bldg
  • Norfolk, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5340
  • ljudkins@odu.edu

College Mission Statement

The Darden College of Education is committed to excellence in teaching, scholarly activities, and service. The College strives to meet the needs of the community while maintaining national and international prominence. It is dedicated to preparing distinguished professionals who become leaders in their fields. The College fulfills its mission through its undergraduate and graduate programs in the fields of education, counseling and human services, exercise science, sports management, recreation, training, fashion, speech-language disorders, instructional and occupational technology, as well as through its many continuing education activities.

Old Dominion University's major purpose in its teacher education programs is to prepare teachers and educational leaders who have adequate knowledge of their teaching disciplines, ability to practice state-of-the-art instruction to students of various cultural and socioeconomic backgrounds, and attitudes which promote commitment to teaching and learning as well as lifelong professional growth and development.