[ skip to content ]

OEAS Professor Emeritus

Professor Emeritus

Dennis A. Darby ddarby@odu.edu

  • Ph.D., University of Wisconsin (1971)
  • Interests: Sedimentary processes

Donald J. P. Swift dswift@odu.edu

  • Ph.D., University of North Carolina (1964)
  • Interests: Fluid and sediment dynamics in shallow marine environments

Ann Gargett gargett@ccpo.odu.edu

  • Ph.D., University of British Columbia (1970)

Ronald Johnson rejohnso@odu.edu

  • Ph.D., Oregon State University (1972)
  • Interests: Generation and distribution of water masses, oceanic circulation, theory of waves and tides

Ali A. Nowroozi anowrooz@odu.edu

  • Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
  • Interests: Application of geophysical methods in environmental studies and Earth mineral resources. Seismology. Earthquake risk; Plate ectonics of Middle East; Evaluation of saltwater/freshwater interface.

George F. Oertel goertel@odu.edu

  • Ph.D., University of Iowa (1971)
  • Interests: Interactions between barrier lagoons and boundary environments around barrier lagoons

Thomas C. Royer royer@ccpo.odu.edu

  • Ph.D., Texas A&M University (1969)
  • Interests: Deep ocean and coastal hydrography and currents, long time series measurements, air-sea interactions

Joseph H. Rule jrule@odu.edu

  • Ph.D., University of Missouri, Columbia (1972)
  • Interests: Geochemistry of trace metals in rocks, soils, sediments, waters and organisms in the environment

George T.F. Wong
gtfwong@gate.sinica.edu.tw

  • Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (1976)
  • Interests: Redox chemistry of trace elements; Carbon and nutrient cycles