[ skip to content ]

Toggle Mobile Menu

Applied Plasma Technology LaboratoryPeople

More Information about this image

Electrical & Computer Engineering Fall 2019 Graduates

Mounir Laroussi

Director of APTL

Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering Department

Dr. Mounir Laroussi received his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. He now holds a Professor position at the Electrical & Computer Engineering Department of Old Dominion University (ODU) and is the Director of ODU's Plasma Engineering & Medicine Institute (PEMI).

Dr. Laroussi's research interests are in the physics and applications of non-equilibrium gaseous discharges including the biomedical applications of low temperature plasma (LTP). He designed and developed numerous novel LTP devices such as the resistive barrier discharge (RBD) and the plasma pencil. He is co-discoverer of guided ionization waves in low temperature plasma jets. Dr. Laroussi is also widely known for conducting the first pioneering experiments on the use of low temperature atmospheric pressure plasmas for biomedical applications and for highly contributing to the establishment of the interdisciplinary field of "Plasma Medicine". For his scientific achievements in the field of low temperature plasmas and their biomedical applications he was elevated to the grade of Fellow by IEEE in 2009, and was awarded the 2012 IEEE-NPSS Merit Award, as well as other prestigious awards.

Soheila Mohades

PhD Student

Soheila Mohades received the B.Sc. degree in physics from Shahid Beheshti University, Tehran, Iran in 2004, and the M.S. in plasma engineering from Shahid Beheshti University, Tehran, Iran in 2012.

Contact: SMOHA013_AT_ODU.EDU

Hamid Razavi

PhD Student

Hamid Razavi received the B.Sc. degree in physics from University of Kashan, Kashan, Iran in 2003, and the M.S. in plasma engineering from Shahid Beheshti University, Tehran, Iran in 2011.

Contact: SRAZA002_AT_ODU.EDU

Previous Members

Post Doc

PhD Students

MS Students

Intern, Technical assistants

Dr. Julien Jarrige

Asma Begum

Mehmet Arda Akman

Nicolas Méricam-Bourdet

Dr. Frank Leipold

Erdinc Karakas

Sudhakar Alla

Chad Mallot

Dr. XinPei Lu

Vivid Thakali

Paul Richardson

Fred Dyer

Dr. Olga Minayeva

Ashraf El-Dakrouri Jessica Sears

Dr. Claire Tendero

Dr.Tamer Akan

Dr. Zibiao Wei

Undergraduate Students

Lucas Van Way

Richard Jonas

Jeff Godwin

Joseph Orians