[ skip to content ]

Toggle Mobile Menu

News @ ODU

More Information about this image

You Visit Tour. Webb Lion Fountain. June 1 2017. Photo David B. Hollingsworth

Governor Appoints Four to ODU Board of Visitors

Gov. Bob McDonnell appointed four new members to four-year terms on the Old Dominion University Board of Visitors on July 11.

They are: Richard T. Cheng of Virginia Beach, CEO of JRC, LLC; Jodi S. Gidley of Virginia Beach, president of Virginia Natural Gas, AGL Resources Co.; Robert M. Tata of Virginia Beach, partner at Hunton & Williams LLP; and Dr. Mary Maniscalco-Theberge of Reston, Deputy Medical Inspector Professional Services, Office of the Medical Inspector for the Veterans Health Administration.

Cheng was the founding chair in 1979 of the ODU Department of Computer Science and later became a successful information technology entrepreneur. Gidley ('94 M.E.) and Maniscalco-Theberge ('78) are ODU alumni.

The appointees' terms will run through June 2017.

Leaving the board are Kenneth E. Ampy, Frank Batten Jr., Pamela C. Kirk and Robert J. O'Neill.

Other board members and their term expiration years are: Jeffrey W. Ainslie (2014); David L. Bernd (2016); John F. Biagas (2016); J. William Cofer (2015); Dee D. Gilmore (2014); Luke M. Hillier (2014); Marc Jacobson (2014); Andrea M. Kilmer, secretary, (2015); Barry Kornblau, vice rector, (2015); Frank Reidy (2015); Ronald C. Ripley (2016); Judith O. Swystun (2016); and Fred J. Whyte, rector, (2014).