# OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, September 12, 2024

#### **MINUTES**

A meeting of the Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University was held on Thursday, September 12, 2024, from 1:45 p.m.-3:15 p.m. in the Board of Visitors Room in the Kate and John R. Broderick Dining Commons on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Committee were:

	Andrew Hodge, Chair Brian K. Holland, Vice Chair P. Murry Pitts <i>(ex officio)</i> Dennis Ellmer Juan M. Montero, II Bruce L. Thompson Rick Wyatt
Also present from the Board:	Brian E. Campbell Jerri F. Dickseski E.G. (Rudy) Middleton, III Ross A. Mugler Sr. Stanley Goldfarb
Absent from the Committee:	Brian K. Holland
Also present were:	President Brian O. Hemphill Brian Payne Ken Fridley Barbara Blake Luanne Bowman Alonzo Brandon Annamarie Ginder Stephanie Jennelle Mary Jo Karlis Amber Kennedy Brandi Hephner LaBanc Tatayana Lobova Chrysoula Malogianni Donna Meeks Tom Odom Kimberly Osborne

Stacey Purcell Chad Reed Nina Rodriguez Gonser September Sanderlin Ashley Schumaker Amanda Skaggs Bonnie Van Lunen

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 1:52 p.m.

# I. APPROVAL OF THE June 13, 2024, MINUTES

Upon a motion made by Mr. Ellmer and seconded by Mr. Pitts, the minutes of the June 13, 2024, meeting were approved by unanimous vote (*Ayes: Hodge, Ellmer, Montero, Pitts, Thompson, Wyatt; Nays: None*).

# **II. CLOSED SESSION**

The Chair recognized Mr. Wyatt, who read the following motion: "Mister Chair, I move that this meeting be recessed, and as permitted by Virginia Code Section 2.2-3711 (A) (1), we reconvene in closed session for the purpose of discussing recommendations for the initial appointment of five faculty members with tenure, an appointment of a Batten Endowed Chair, a Beazley Named Professor, an Endowed Slover Professor, and four dual employments. The motion was seconded by Mr. Pitts and approved by unanimous vote (*Ayes: Hodge, Ellmer, Montero, Pitts, Thompson, Wyatt; Nays: None*). In addition to the Board members present, the following individuals were present during closed session: President Hemphill, Interim Provost Payne, Vice President Fridley, Luanne Bowman, Annamarie Ginder, Nina Rodriguez Gonser, Mary Jo Karlis, Brandi Hephner LaBanc, Kimberly Osborne Chad Reed, September Sanderlin, Ashley Schumaker, and Bonnie Van Lunen.

# III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND FOIA CERTIFICATION

At the conclusion of the closed session, the Chair reconvened the meeting and the following Freedom of Information Act Certification was read: "Any person who believes that the committee discussed items, which were not specifically exempted by law or not included in the motion, must now state where they believe there was a departure from the law or a departure in the discussion of matters other than that stated in the motion convening the closed session. I shall now take a roll-call vote of the committee. All those who agree that only lawfully exempted matters and specifically only the business matter stated in the motion convening the closed session were discussed in closed session say "aye." All those who disagree say "nay." The certification was approved by roll-call vote (*Ayes: Hodge, Ellmer, Montero, Pitts, Thompson, Wyatt; Nays: None*).

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Mr. Ellmer the committee approved the appointment of Kuntal Bhattacharyya as the Beazley Named Professor with tenure in the School of Supply Chain, Logistics, and Maritime Operations and designation as Director of the School

of Supply Chain, Logistics, and Maritime Operations by unanimous vote (*Ayes: Hodge, Ellmer, Montero, Pitts, Thompson, Wyatt; Nays: None*).

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Mr. Ellmer the committee approved the appointment of Jeffrey Fergus as Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering with tenure and designation the Dean of the Batten College of Engineering and Technology by unanimous vote (*Ayes: Hodge, Ellmer, Montero, Pitts, Thompson, Wyatt; Nays: None*).

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Mr. Ellmer the committee approved the appointment of Lobat Tayebi as Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering with tenure, the appointment as Batten Endowed Chair in the Batten College of Engineering and Technology, and designation as Inaugural Director of the Institute for Engineering in Medicine, Health and Human Performance by unanimous vote (*Ayes: Hodge, Ellmer, Montero, Pitts, Thompson, Wyatt; Nays: None*).

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Mr. Ellmer the committee approved the appointment of Bruce McDonald as Professor of Public Service with tenure and designation as Director of the School of Public Service by unanimous vote (*Ayes: Hodge, Ellmer, Montero, Pitts, Thompson, Wyatt; Nays: None*).

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Mr. Ellmer the committee approved the appointment of Kevin Yeager as Endowed Slover Professor with tenure in the Department of Ocean and Earth Sciences and designation as the Chair of the Department of Ocean and Earth Sciences by unanimous vote (*Ayes: Hodge, Ellmer, Montero, Pitts, Thompson, Wyatt; Nays: None*).

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Mr. Ellmer the committee approved the the four dual employments of those named, finding each employment in the best interests of the University by unanimous vote (*Ayes: Hodge, Ellmer, Montero, Pitts, Thompson, Wyatt; Nays: None*).

#### IV. CONSENT AGENDA

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Mr. Wyatt, committee members approved twenty-five faculty appointments and three emeriti appointments by unanimous vote (*Ayes: Hodge, Ellmer, Montero, Pitts, Thompson, Wyatt; Nays: None*).

#### VI. INFORMATION ITEMS

Brian K. Payne, Interim Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs presented an update on Academic Affairs areas of focus and priorities that included academic success, faculty recruitment and retention, graduate education, mobility mindset, and internships and work-based learning. Barbara Blake, Executive Director of the Monarch Internship and Co-Op Office, provided an overview of the Monarch Internship and Co-Op Office and discussed the foundation and early growth of the office and laid out the expectations for the office over the next two years.

Ken Fridley, Vice President for Research & Economic Development, provided an overview of the Research and Development portfolios of ODU and EVMS over the last few fiscal years as a preview of what our collective portfolio will look like post-integration.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:19 p.m.