# OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS

# Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, April 21, 2016

## **MINUTES**

The Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University met on Thursday, April 21 at 9:30 a.m. in the River Rooms of Webb Center on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Board were:

Carlton F. Bennett David Bernd Jay Harris Michael J. Henry

Mary Maniscalco-Theberge

Lisa B. Smith

Absent were: Richard R. Cheng

Frank Reidy

Judith O. Swystun

Also present were: John R. Broderick, President

Alonzo Brandon Judy Bowman Jane Dane´

Chandra de Silva Morris Foster Elizabeth Kersey Ellen Neufeldt Brian Payne

Andres Sousa-Poza Robert Wojtowicz

Jay Wright

# I. APPROVAL OF THE DECEMBER 3, 2015 MINUTES

The minutes of the December 3, 2015 meeting were approved.

### II. TENURE POLICIES AND PROCEDURES

Chandra de Silva provided a summary of the policies and procedures on tenure. Committee members received data on instructional faculty tenure trends from 1991-2016, the percentage of tenured instructional faculty within the six academic colleges for academic year 2015-16,

instructional faculty by college and department for spring 2016, and the ethnicity and gender of instructional faculty within the six academic colleges for academic year 2015-16.

#### III. CLOSED SESSION

The Committee recessed and reconvened in closed session to discuss recommendations for the award of tenure to 24 faculty members and the appointment of five faculty members with tenure.

### IV. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND VOTE ON RESOLUTIONS

The Committee convened again in open session. A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Ms. Smith to award tenure to 24 faculty members. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bennett, Bernd, Harris, Henry, Maniscalco-Theberge, Smith).

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Ms. Smith to appoint five faculty members with tenure. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bennett, Bernd, Harris, Henry, Maniscalco-Theberge, Smith).

### V. CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Ms. Smith to approve the resolutions on 30 faculty appointments, 28 administrative appointments and 24 emeritus/emerita appointments. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bennett, Bernd, Harris, Henry, Maniscalco-Theberge, Smith).

### VI. REGULAR AGENDA

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Mr. Bernd to approve the proposal to rename the Office of Graduate Studies the Old Dominion University Graduate School. The creation of a graduate school will demonstrate that graduate education is an integral part of the University mission, provide for strategies to more efficiently devote resources to graduate education, enhance student support initiatives for graduate students, strengthen the University's identity as a research institution, and assist in the coordination of interdisciplinary graduate programs. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bennett, Bernd, Harris, Henry, Maniscalco-Theberge, Smith).

## VII. INFORMATION ITEMS

Committee members the report on promotions in rank effective for 2016-17.