APPROVED BY THE COMMITTEE - 12/8/16

OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, September 22, 2016

MINUTES

The Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University met on Thursday, September 22 at 9:00 a.m. in the River Rooms of Webb Center on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Board were:

	Carlton F. Bennett
	R. Bruce Bradley
	Richard T. Cheng
	Toykea S. Jones
	Kay A. Kemper
	Mary Maniscalco-Theberge
	Frank Reidy
	Lisa B. Smith
	Andres Sousa-Poza (Faculty Representative)
	Petra Szőnyegi (Student Representative)
Also present were:	John R. Broderick, President
	Augustine O. Agho
	Alonzo Brandon
	Judy Bowman
	Jim Duffy
	Morris Foster
	Ellen Neufeldt
	Brian Payne
	Johnny Young
	Jay Wright

I. APPROVAL OF THE JUNE 9, 2016 MINUTES

The minutes of the June 9, 2016 meeting were approved.

II. CLOSED SESSION

The Committee recessed and reconvened in closed session to discuss the appointment of faculty representatives to Board of Visitors committees. The Committee convened again in open session.

III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND VOTE ON RESOLUTION

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Ms. Smith to appoint the following faculty representatives to Board of Visitors committees for 2016-17: Academic and Research Advancement, Andres Sousa-Poza; Administration and Finance, John Lombard; Institutional Advancement, Sebastian Kuhn; and Student Advancement, Linda Miller-Dunleavy. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bennett, Bradley, Cheng, Jones, Kemper, Maniscalco-Theberge, Reidy, Smith).

IV. CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Ms. Smith to approve the resolutions on 41 faculty appointments, appointment of the Batten Endowed Chair in Cybersecurity, appointment of the Batten Professorship in Jewish Studies, 61 administrative appointments, and four emeritus appointments. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bennett, Bradley, Cheng, Jones, Kemper, Maniscalco-Theberge, Reidy, Smith).

V. REGULAR AGENDA

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Ms. Smith to approve the proposed revisions to the policy on Initial Appointment of Teaching and Research Faculty. The revisions specify the process for the appointment and reappointment of faculty of practice and ensure that the process is in line with the current rules in the policy on Academic Rank and Criteria for Rank. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bennett, Bradley, Cheng, Jones, Kemper, Maniscalco-Theberge, Reidy, Smith).

VI. INFORMATION ITEMS

Provost Austin Agho presented information on Old Dominion University faculty salaries by college and discipline for 2015-16 in comparison with faculty salaries at doctoral universities and region IV universities. Committee members discussed issues related to salary compression, salary equity, and implications for faculty recruitment and retention.

Vice President for Research Morris Foster provided an update on research activities at the University. New initiatives are underway in four areas: Cybersecurity, Data Science and Security, Resilience, and Port Logistics and Supply Chain and Marine Engineering. Opportunities within the state include the Virginia Research Investment Fund and the Go Virginia initiative. The University currently has 10 active NIH R01 gold standard grants in fiscal year 2016, which is an increase over previous years. Dr. Foster also discussed a pilot faculty incentives program to reward faculty for external funding success.

Vice Provost Brian Payne announced that the University has received funding from the National Institute of Standards and Technology in the cybersecurity area. He also reported that the Times

Higher Education of London World University ranking was just released, and Old Dominion University is one of five Virginia institutions on the list.