OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS

Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, September 24, 2015

MINUTES

The Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University met on Thursday, September 24, 2015, at 9:00 a.m. in the River Rooms of Webb Center on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Board were:

Carlton F. Bennett

David Bernd

Ronald C. Ripley (ex officio)

Richard T. Cheng Michael J. Henry

Mary Maniscalco-Theberge

Frank Reidy Lisa B. Smith Judith W. Swystun

Also present were:

John R. Broderick, President

Judy Bowman Jane Dane'

Chandra de Silva Christopher Fleming

Morris Foster Nancy Grden Ling "Lynn" Li Jeff Tanner Jay Wright Johnny Young

I. APPROVAL OF THE JUNE 11, 2015 MINUTES

The minutes of the June 11, 2015 meeting were approved.

II. CLOSED SESSION

The Committee recessed and reconvened in closed session to discuss recommendations for three honorary degrees, the appointment of two faculty members with tenure, and the appointment of faculty representatives to Board of Visitors' committees.

III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND VOTE ON RESOLUTIONS

The Committee convened again in open session. A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Ms. Swystun to award an honorary degree to Wilbert W. James, Guy Kawasaki, and Joyce Roché. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bennett, Bernd, Cheng, Maniscalco-Theberge, Reidy, Ripley, Smith, Swystun).

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Ms. Swystun to appoint two faculty members with tenure. The motion to appoint Harold C. Riethman as Professor of Medical Diagnostic and Translational Sciences with tenure and Nail K. Yamaleev as Associate Professor of Mathematics and Statistics with tenure was approved by unanimous vote (Bennett, Bernd, Cheng, Henry, Maniscalco-Theberge, Reidy, Ripley, Smith, Swystun).

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Ms. Swystun to appoint faculty representatives to Board of Visitors' standing committees for 2015-16. The motion to appoint Andres Sousa-Poza to the Academic and Research Advancement Committee, John Lombard to the Administration and Finance Committee, Sebastian Kuhn to the Institutional Advancement Committee, and Linda Miller-Dunleavy to the Student Advancement Committee was approved by unanimous vote (Bennett, Bernd, Cheng, Henry, Maniscalco-Theberge, Reidy, Ripley, Smith, Swystun).

IV. CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Mr. Reidy to approve the resolutions on 39 faculty appointments, 41 administrative appointments and three emeritus appointments. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bennett, Bernd, Cheng, Henry, Maniscalco-Theberge, Reidy, Ripley, Smith, Swystun).

V. REGULAR AGENDA

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Ms. Swystun to approve the proposal for a new M.S. program in Maritime Trade and Supply Chain Management. The proposed program would be in the Strome College of Business and would be the first of its kind in the United States. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bennett, Bernd, Cheng, Henry, Maniscalco-Theberge, Reidy, Ripley, Smith, Swystun).

VI. INFORMATION ITEMS

Committee members received information on one request for leave of absence without compensation and the name change for the Office of Assessment to the Office of Institutional Effectiveness and Assessment.

For the Provost's report, Chandra de Silva introduced Nancy Grden, Executive Director of the Strome Entrepreneurial Center, who presented information about the entrepreneurship program, the Center for Enterprise Innovation, and activities of the Entrepreneurial Center.

In the report from the Vice President for Research, Morris Foster announced that searches are underway for faculty positions in climate and health as part of the sea level rise initiative and in cybersecurity.