OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS

Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, December 3, 2015

MINUTES

The Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University met on Thursday, December 3, 2015 at 9:00 a.m. in the River Rooms of Webb Center on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Board were:

Carlton F. Bennett

David Bernd

Ronald C. Ripley (ex officio) John F. Biagas (ex officio)

Michael J. Henry

Mary Maniscalco-Theberge

Lisa B. Smith Judith W. Swystun

Also present were: John R. Broderick, President

Judy Bowman Charles Chiou Chandra de Silva

Karen Eck Morris Foster Dale Miller Earl Nance Ellen Neufeldt Lynn Ridinger Andres Sousa-Poza Johnny Young

I. APPROVAL OF THE SEPTEMBER 24, 2015 MINUTES

The minutes of the September 24, 2015 meeting were approved.

II. CLOSED SESSION

The Committee recessed and reconvened in closed session to discuss the recommendations for the award of tenure to three faculty members, one honorary degree, and the appointment of the faculty representative to the Administration and Finance Committee for spring 2016. The Committee also discussed the policy on Honorary Degrees: Criteria and Procedures.

III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND VOTE ON RESOLUTIONS

The Committee convened again in open session. A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Mr. Henry to award tenure to three faculty members. The motion to award tenure to Katherine Hammond, Erin L. Jordan, and Jelmer Vos was approved by unanimous vote (Bennett, Bernd, Biagas, Henry, Maniscalco-Theberge, Smith, Swystun).

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Mr. Henry to award an honorary degree to Marc Jacobson. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bennett, Bernd, Biagas, Henry, Maniscalco-Theberge, Smith, Swystun).

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Mr. Henry to appoint Ingrid Whitaker as the faculty representative to the Administration and Finance Committee for the spring 2016 semester. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bennett, Bernd, Biagas, Henry, Maniscalco-Theberge, Smith, Swystun).

Committee members discussed the policy on Honorary Degrees: Criteria and Procedures and decided to make no amendments to the policy.

IV. CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Ms. Swystun and seconded by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge to approve the resolutions on six faculty appointments, 21 administrative appointments and 10 emeritus/emerita appointments. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bennett, Biagas, Henry, Maniscalco-Theberge, Smith, Swystun).

V. REGULAR AGENDA

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Mr. Henry to approve the proposed revisions to the policy on Emeritus/Emerita Appointments. The revisions provide a mechanism to award emeritus/emerita status to retirees who are not tenured faculty, including non-tenure track faculty, librarians, and administrators. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bennett, Bernd, Biagas, Henry, Maniscalco-Theberge, Ripley, Smith).

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Ms. Smith to approve the proposal for a new Bachelor of Science program in Sport Management. The program will prepare students for entry-level management positions within sport-oriented organizations. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bennett, Bernd, Biagas, Henry, Maniscalco-Theberge, Ripley, Smith, Swystun).

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Ms. Smith to approve the proposal for a new Master of Science program in Sport Management. The program will provide students with the knowledge to enable them to be successful leaders within sport-oriented organizations. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bennett, Bernd, Biagas, Henry, Maniscalco-Theberge, Ripley, Smith, Swystun).

A motion was made by Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge and seconded by Ms. Smith to approve the proposal for a new Master of Science program in Park, Recreation and Tourism Studies. The program will provide professional preparation for students and practitioners interested in pursuing or continuing a career in recreation or tourism-related fields. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bennett, Bernd, Biagas, Henry, Maniscalco-Theberge, Ripley, Smith, Swystun).

VI. INFORMATION ITEMS

For the Provost's report, Chandra de Silva introduced Dale Miller, Provost's Fellow for Faculty Development and Professor of Philosophy and Religious Studies, who presented information about the exit interview survey that was administered to faculty members who recently resigned full-time positions in an effort to determine why they left. Salary and lack of support for research were the areas in which respondents were least satisfied at Old Dominion. Respondents expressed a high level of satisfaction with their benefits and the extent to which their academic freedom was protected. Dr. de Silva stated that the next step is to survey all faculty to determine their level of satisfaction at the University.