APPROVED BY THE COMMITTEE - 12/6/18

OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, September 20, 2018

MINUTES

The Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University met on Thursday, September 20, 2018 from 9:45-11:00 a.m. in Committee Room A of the Kate and John R. Broderick Dining Commons on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Board were:

	Robert S. Corn Unwanna B. Dabney Jerri F. Dickseski Alton J. Harris Michael J. Henry Toykea S. Jones Maurice D. Slaughter Lisa B. Smith Andres Sousa-Poza <i>(Faculty Representative)</i> Rafia Haq <i>(Student Representative)</i>
Absent was:	R. Bruce Bradley
Also present were:	Augustine O. Agho Muge Akpinar-Elci Judy Bowman Alonzo Brandon Julie Cavallario Jane Dané Morris Foster Kate Hawkins Jeanie Kline Casey Kohler Brian Payne Jay Wright Johnny Young

I. APPROVAL OF THE JUNE 14, 2018 MINUTES

The minutes of the June 14, 2018 meeting were approved.

II. CLOSED SESSION

The Committee recessed and reconvened in closed session to discuss the initial appointment of two faculty members with tenure, faculty representatives to Board of Visitors committees, the rescission of an honorary degree, and an update on the appeal of a tenure decision.

III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND VOTE ON RESOLUTIONS

The Committee convened again in open session. A motion was made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Ms. Jones to appoint Dr. Sherif S. Ishak as professor of civil and environmental engineering with tenure and Dr. Gymama Slaughter as associate professor of electrical and computer engineering with tenure. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Henry, Jones, Slaughter, Smith).

A motion was made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Ms. Jones to approve the following faculty representatives to Board of Visitors committees for the 2018-19 academic year: Academic and Research Advancement, Sebastian Kuhn; Administration and Finance, Ingrid Whitaker; Student Advancement, Linda Miller-Dunleavy; and University Advancement, David Burdige. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Henry, Jones, Slaughter, Smith).

Committee members received a copy of the policy on honorary degrees and a listing of individuals receiving honorary degrees from Old Dominion University since 2001. A summary of the honorary degrees policy at other institutions in Virginia was circulated, and Provost Agho noted that those policies are similar to Old Dominion's. A motion was made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Ms. Jones to rescind the honorary Doctor of Humane Letters awarded to William J. Cosby, Jr. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Henry, Jones, Slaughter, Smith).

Provost Agho informed committee members that there was no further appeal from the faculty member discussed at the last meeting who was not awarded tenure.

IV. CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Ms. Smith and seconded by Ms. Dickseski to approve the resolutions on 40 faculty appointments, 50 administrative appointments and one emerita appointment. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Henry, Jones, Slaughter, Smith).

V. REGULAR AGENDA

A motion was made by Mr. Corn and seconded by Mr. Slaughter to discontinue the joint offering of the Master of Public Health with Eastern Virginia Medical School and continue the program offered solely by Old Dominion University. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Henry, Jones, Slaughter, Smith).

A motion was made by Mr. Corn and seconded by Mr. Slaughter to discontinue the current offering of the post-professional Master of Science in Athletic Training and initiate the degree program as an entry-level credential. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Henry, Jones, Slaughter, Smith).

Committee members received information on a request for leave of absence without compensation. In the report from the Provost, Austin Agho introduced Brian Payne, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, who presented information on the LeADERS program. The program provides experiences in the following areas for students who elect to participate: leadership, ePortfolios, academic internships, diversity, entrepreneurships, research, and service learning. Students who participate complete three to five class areas and an ePortfolio and earn bronze, silver or gold status.

In the report from the Vice President for Research, Morris Foster highlighted a recent grant received from NSF that provides \$1.5M to recycle the University's high performance computing resources. The grant is in addition to a \$500,000 cost match from the University.