OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS

Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, December 5, 2019

MINUTES

The Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University met on Thursday, December 5, 2019 from 10:15-11:30 a.m. in Committee Room A of the Kate and John R. Broderick Dining Commons on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Board were:

R. Bruce Bradley Robert S. Corn Unwanna B. Dabney Alton J. Harris Toykea S. Jones Lisa Smith

Sebastian Kuhn (Faculty Representative) Stephen Greiling (Student Representative)

Absent were: Jerri F. Dickseski

Maurice D. Slaughter

Also present were: John R. Broderick

Augustine O. Agho David Bowles

David Bowles
Judy Bowman
Jane Dané
Fred Dobbs
Morris Foster

Danielle Freeman Emily Harmon Casey Kohler Lisa Mayes Harry Minium Anil Nair

Nina Preston Jay Wright

Brian Payne

I. APPROVAL OF THE SEPTEMBER 19, 2019 MINUTES

The minutes of the September 19, 2019 meeting were approved.

II. CLOSED SESSION

The Committee recessed and reconvened in closed session to discuss a recommendation for the award of tenure to a faculty member.

III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND VOTE ON RESOLUTIONS

The Committee convened again in open session. A motion was made and seconded to award tenure to Daniel J. Barshis in the Department of Biological Sciences. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Harris, Jones, Smith).

IV. CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made and seconded to approve the resolutions on four faculty appointments, 22 administrative appointments and two emerita appointments. The resolutions on four faculty appointments and two emerita appointments were approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Harris, Jones, Smith). The resolution on 22 administrative appointments was approved by a vote of five in favor with one recusal specific to Delegate Kenneth Plum (Bradley, Dabney, Harris, Jones, Smith in favor; Corn abstain).

V. REGULAR AGENDA

A motion was made by Mr. Bradley and seconded by Mr. Harris to approve the recommendation to rename the Department of Management the Department of Management and Entrepreneurship. The new name will signal students and parents where entrepreneurship courses and curricula are housed within the University, highlight the University's focus on entrepreneurship, and help attract faculty with research interests in entrepreneurship The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Harris, Jones).

A motion was made by Mr. Bradley and seconded by Mr. Harris to approve the recommendation to rename the Department of Ocean, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences the Department of Ocean and Earth Sciences. The new name not only will more accurately reflect the department's expertise and course offerings, it is coincident with the title of the Bachelor of Science and Master of Science degrees in Ocean and Earth Sciences The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Harris, Jones).

VI. INFORMATION ITEMS

Committee members received information on a request for leave of absence without compensation. In the report from the Provost, Austin Agho presented information on faculty diversity: recruitment and retention, including the following:

- Career tracks for teaching and research faculty,
- Steps in the faculty recruitment process,

- Trend analysis of full-time teaching and research faculty by gender and ethnicity, and
- Recruitment and retention efforts focusing on program development, department climate, community building, and universal messaging.

Ariana Wright, Director of Equity and EO/AA, discussed the role of the Office of Institutional Equity and Diversity in the review of faculty positions.

The report from the Provost also included a presentation on how the Center for High Impact Practices supports student learning inside and outside the classroom by Lisa Mayes, Executive Director of the Center, and Emily Harmon, Student Support Services Counselor. They discussed high impact practices and learning support provided by the Center and highlighted the work done by Student Support Services.

In the report from the Vice President for Research, Dr. David Bowles, Executive Director of the Virginia Institute for Spaceflight and Autonomy, provided an overview of the Institute. The Institute will ignite the Commonwealth's unique aerospace assets on the Eastern Shore and throughout the state and will focus on growth, talent and innovation.