OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS

Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Wednesday, December 9, 2020

MINUTES

A meeting of the Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University was held on Wednesday, December 9, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. to discuss or transact business statutorily required or necessary to continue operations of the Board and the discharge of its lawful purposes, duties and responsibilities. The meeting was held electronically using the Zoom application pursuant to § 4-0.01(g) of Chapter 1289 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly. Present from the Committee were:

Toykea S. Jones, Chair Lisa B. Smith, Vice Chair Kay A. Kemper (ex officio) R. Bruce Bradley (ex officio)

Robert S. Corn Unwanna B. Dabney Jerri F. Dickseski Alton (Jay) Harris P. Murry Pitts

Nina W. Brown (Faculty Representative) Bridget Groble (Student Representative)

Absent from the Committee: Carlton F. Bennett

Also present were: John R. Broderick

Augustine Agho Judy Bowman Alonzo Brandon Greg DuBois Morris Foster Giovanna Genard Casey Kohler Donna Meeks Tom Odom Nina Preston

Narketta Sparkman-Key

Don Stansberry Jay Wright

The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m.

I. APPROVAL OF THE SEPTEMBER 17, 2020 MINUTES

Upon a motion made by Ms. Smith and seconded by Mr. Harris, the minutes of the September 17, 2020 meeting were approved by roll-call vote (Ayes: Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Smith; Nays: None).

II. CLOSED SESSION

The Chair recognized Ms. Smith, who read the following motion: "Madam Chair, I move that this meeting be recessed, and, as permitted by Virginia Code Section 2.2-3711(A) (1), we reconvene in closed session for the purpose of discussing the appointment of a faculty member with tenure, the award of tenure to three faculty members, and a dual employment." The motion was seconded by Mr. Harris and approved by roll-call vote (Ayes: Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Smith; Nays: None). In addition to the Board members in attendance, Provost Agho, Vice President Foster, Judy Bowman, Tom Odom, and Jay Wright were present during Closed Session.

III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND FOIA CERTIFICATION

At the conclusion of the Closed Session, the Chair reconvened the meeting and the following Freedom of Information Act Certification was read: "Any person who believes that the Committee discussed items, which were not specifically exempted by law or not included in the motion, must now state where they believe there was a departure from the law or a departure in the discussion of matters other than that stated in the motion convening the closed session. I shall now take a vote of the Committee. All those who agree that only lawfully exempted matters and specifically only the business matter stated in the motion convening the closed session were discussed in closed session say "aye." All those who disagree say "nay." The certification was approved by roll-call vote (Ayes: Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None).

Upon a motion made by Mr. Harris and seconded by Ms. Dickseski, the committee approved by roll-call vote the appointment of Richard Maas with tenure in the Department of Political Science and Geography, the award of tenure to Anthony Perez in the Department of Educational Foundations and Leadership, Tina Gustin in the School of Nursing, and Ted Rogers in the Department of Physics, and the dual employment of those named, finding each employment in the best interests of the University (Ayes: Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None).

IV. CONSENT AGENDA

Upon a motion made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Mr. Pitts, the committee approved three faculty appointments, 16 administrative appointments, three emeritus/emerita appointments, and one posthumous emeritus appointment by roll-call vote (Ayes: Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None).

V. REGULAR AGENDA

Upon a motion made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Mr. Pitts, the committee approved by roll-call vote the reaffirmation of Board of Visitors Policy 1001, The Mission of the University, and Board of Visitors Policy 1002, Major Goals of the University, revisions to Board of Visitors Policy 1223, Honorary Degrees: Criteria and Procedures, a request to rename the School of Community and Environmental Health the School of Public Health, and a request to rename the Department of Women's Studies the Department of Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies (Ayes: Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None).

VI. INFORMATION ITEMS

Committee members received information on the appointment of an unpaid clinical instructor in the School of Nursing, Jennifer Kiggans, State Senator in the Virginia General Assembly from Virginia Beach. In the report from the Provost, Provost Agho presented an update on diversity and inclusion and provided data on the gender and ethnicity of instructional faculty and administrative faculty hired and those that left the University, including reasons for their departure.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:58 a.m.