OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS

Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, December 9, 2021

MINUTES

A meeting of the Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University was held on Tuesday, September 14, 2021, from 1:00-4:30 p.m. in the Board of Visitors Room in the Kate and John R. Broderick Dining Commons on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Committee were:

Toykea S. Jones, Chair Lisa B. Smith, Vice Chair R. Bruce Bradley (ex officio)

Jerri F. Dickseski Alton (Jay) Harris Kay A. Kemper P. Murry Pitts

Absent from the Committee: Carlton F. Bennett

Robert S. Corn

Unwanna B. Dabney

Also present were: President Brian O. Hemphill

Augustine Agho
Judy Bowman
Alonzo Brandon
Morris Foster
Giovanna Genard
Amber Kennedy
Casey Kohler
Donna Meeks
Teressa Murrell
Ashley Schumaker
Sachin Shetty
Bonnie Van Lunen

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 3:05 p.m.

I. APPROVAL OF THE SEPTEMBER 14, 2021, MINUTES

Upon a motion made and duly seconded, the minutes of the September 14, 2021, meeting were approved by roll-call vote (Ayes: Bradley, Dickseski, Harris, Jones, Smith; Nays: None).

II. CLOSED SESSION

The Chair recognized Ms. Smith, who read the following motion: "Madam Chair, I move that this meeting be recessed, and, as permitted by Virginia Code Section 2.2-3711 (A) (1), we reconvene in closed session for the purpose of discussing recommendations for the appointment of two faculty members with tenure, the award of tenure to one faculty member, and dual employment. The motion was seconded and approved by roll-call vote (Ayes: Bradley, Dickseski, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Smith; Nays: None). In addition to the Board members present, the following individuals were present during Closed Session: Provost Agho, Vice President Foster, Judy Bowman, Ashley Schumaker, and Teressa Murrell.

III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND FOIA CERTIFICATION

At the conclusion of the Closed Session, the Chair reconvened the meeting and the following Freedom of Information Act Certification was read: "Any person who believes that the Committee discussed items, which were not specifically exempted by law or not included in the motion, must now state where they believe there was a departure from the law or a departure in the discussion of matters other than that stated in the motion convening the closed session. I shall now take a vote of the Committee. All those who agree that only lawfully exempted matters and specifically only the business matter stated in the motion convening the closed session were discussed in closed session say "aye." All those who disagree say "nay." The certification was approved by roll-call vote (Ayes: Bradley, Dickseski, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None).

Upon a motion made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Mr. Pitts, the committee approved the appointment of Dr. Anthony Dean as Professor of Engineering Technology with tenure, the appointment of Dr. Emily Ondracek-Peterson as Associate Professor of Music with tenure, the award of tenure to Dr. Raymond Cheng in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, and the dual employment of those named, finding each employment in the best interests of the University, by roll-call vote (*Ayes: Bradley, Dickseski, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None*).

IV. CONSENT AGENDA

Upon a motion made by Ms. Smith and seconded by Mr. Harris, the committee approved seven faculty appointments, 14 administrative faculty appointments, and six emeritus/emerita appointments by roll-call vote (*Ayes: Bradley, Dickseski, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None*).

V. REGULAR AGENDA

Upon a motion made by Ms. Kemper and seconded by Mr. Harris, the committee approved the initiation of a Doctor of Occupational Therapy degree program to begin in spring 2023 by roll-call vote. The degree program will be administered by the School of Rehabilitation Sciences in the College of Health Sciences (Ayes: Bradley, Dickseski, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None).

VI. INFORMATION ITEMS

In the report from the Provost, Provost Agho announced that the title of the leadership of the university libraries has changed from University Librarian to Dean of University Libraries.

Morris Foster, Vice President for Research, introduced Sachin Shetty, Professor of Computational Modeling and Simulation Engineering. Dr. Shetty presented an overview of the Center for Secure and Intelligent Critical Systems (SICS) and its national and regional impact in the area of securing critical infrastructure. The Center conducts research on developing and integrating secure and intelligent technologies to ensure safe, reliable, and resilient infrastructure for the future. SICS has made national impact in the area of resilient critical infrastructure by serving as the site for the Department of Homeland Security Critical Infrastructure Resilience Institute, the Department of Energy Cyber Resilient Energy Delivery Consortium, the Department of Defense (DoD) Center of Excellence in Cyber Security, and the Center of Excellence in Artificial Intelligence.

Dr. Shetty is serving as the Technical Lead for developing a 5G empowered smart warehouse for Marine Corps Logistics Base, Albany, which will be the first 5G prototype at any DoD site. SICS embodies the "math to marketplace" mantra that has resulted in commercialization of two products, CRISM and Bloxure. Finally, SICS has partnered with Sentara Healthcare to develop Bloxure, a Blockchain based medical device security solution, and the Port of Virginia to develop a secure 5G network to support autonomous vehicles.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:54 p.m.