OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS

Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, April 21, 2022

MINUTES

A meeting of the Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University was held on Thursday, April 21, 2022, from 1:00-2:30 p.m. in the Board of Visitors Room in the Kate and John R. Broderick Dining Commons on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Committee were:

Toykea S. Jones, Chair Lisa B. Smith, Vice Chair R. Bruce Bradley (ex officio)

Unwanna B. Dabney Jerri F. Dickseski Alton (Jay) Harris Kay A. Kemper

Absent from the Committee: Carlton F. Bennett

Robert S. Corn P. Murry Pitts

Also present were: President Brian O. Hemphill

Augustine Agho Judy Bowman Alonzo Brandon Dan Barshis Gail Dodge Morris Foster Donna Meeks Teressa Murrell Tom Odom Brian Payne Chad Reed

Ashley Schumaker

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 1:00 p.m.

I. APPROVAL OF THE DECEMBER 9, 2021, MINUTES

Upon a motion made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Ms. Smith, the minutes of the December 9, 2021, meeting were approved by unanimous vote (Ayes: Bradley, Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Jones, Smith; Nays: None).

II. CLOSED SESSION

The Chair recognized Ms. Smith, who read the following motion: "Madam Chair, I move that this meeting be recessed, and, as permitted by Virginia Code Section 2.2-3711 (A) (1), we reconvene in closed session for the purpose of discussing recommendations for the appointment of a faculty member with tenure, the award of tenure to 18 faculty members, and an honorary degree. The motion was seconded by Mr. Harris and approved by unanimous vote (Ayes: Bradley, Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Jones, Smith; Nays: None). In addition to the Board members present, the following individuals were present during Closed Session: President Hemphill, Provost Agho, Vice President Foster, Judy Bowman, Teressa Murrell, Tom Odom, Chad Reed, and Ashley Schumaker.

III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND FOIA CERTIFICATION

At the conclusion of the Closed Session, the Chair reconvened the meeting and the following Freedom of Information Act Certification was read: "Any person who believes that the Committee discussed items, which were not specifically exempted by law or not included in the motion, must now state where they believe there was a departure from the law or a departure in the discussion of matters other than that stated in the motion convening the closed session. I shall now take a vote of the Committee. All those who agree that only lawfully exempted matters and specifically only the business matter stated in the motion convening the closed session were discussed in closed session say "aye." All those who disagree say "nay." The certification was approved by roll-call vote (Ayes: Bradley, Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Smith; Nays: None).

Upon a motion made by Ms. Smith and seconded by Ms. Dickseski, the committee approved the appointment of Dr. Christina Rodriguez as Professor of Psychology with tenure, the award of tenure to 18 faculty members, and the award of an honorary degree to Howard P. Kern, President and Chief Executive Officer of Sentara Healthcare, by unanimous vote (Ayes: Bradley, Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Smith; Nays: None).

IV. CONSENT AGENDA

Upon a motion made by Ms. Kemper and seconded by Mr. Harris, the committee approved 31 faculty appointments, 26 administrative faculty appointments, 14 emeritus/emerita appointments, and the appointment of Dr. Orlando Ayala to the Ray Ferrari Endowed Professorship by unanimous vote (Ayes: Bradley, Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Smith; Nays: None).

V. REGULAR AGENDA

Upon a motion made by Dr. Dabney and seconded by Ms. Dickseski, the committee approved the creation of the School of Data Science and initiation of a Doctor of Philosophy degree program in Biology by unanimous vote (Ayes: Bradley, Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Jones,

Kemper, Smith; Nays: None). The School of Data Science is designed to organize data science academic and research activities (with degrees and certificates tailored to regional workforce needs) while leveraging research partnerships with nearby national labs (JLab, NASA Langley, and Wallops Flight Facility) to develop a targeted scientific focus in data science for which ODU can become a distinctive national leader. The Ph.D. degree program in Biology will be administered by the Department of Biological Sciences in the College of Sciences and implemented in spring 2023.

VI. INFORMATION ITEMS

In the report from the Vice President for Research, Morris Foster presented an overview of research opportunities, including offshore wind energy, supply chain/acquisition systems, autonomous systems, and SmallSats/Wallops.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:10 p.m.