APPROVED BY THE COMMITTEE - 6/13/19

OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, April 25, 2019

MINUTES

The Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University met on Thursday, April 25, 2019 from 10:45 a.m.-12:00 noon in Committee Room A of the Kate and John R. Broderick Dining Commons on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Board were:

	R. Bruce Bradley Robert S. Corn Jerri F. Dickseski Toykea S. Jones
Absent were:	Unwanna B. Dabney Alton J. Harris Michael J. Henry Maurice D. Slaughter
Also present were:	Augustine O. Agho Judy Bowman Jane Bray Morris Foster Jeanie Kline Casey Kohler Sebastian Kuhn Brian Payne Jay Wright

I. APPROVAL OF THE DECEMBER 6, 2018 MINUTES

The minutes of the December 6, 2018 meeting were approved.

II. TENURE POLICIES AND PROCEDURES

Provost Austin Agho briefed the Committee on the University's policy and procedures on tenure and provided data on tenure trends, the percentage of tenured full-time faculty, and the ethnicity and gender of full-time faculty.

III. CLOSED SESSION

The Committee recessed and reconvened in closed session to discuss recommendations for the award of tenure to 22 faculty members, the appointment of one faculty member with tenure, three honorary degree nominations, the reorganization of the College of Continuing Education and Professional Development, and dual employment.

IV. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND VOTE ON RESOLUTIONS

The Committee convened again in open session. A motion was made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Mr. Bradley to award tenure to 22 faculty members. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Jones).

A motion was made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Mr. Bradley to appoint Dr. Kristi Costello with tenure in the Department of English. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Jones).

A motion was made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Mr. Bradley to award an honorary degree to Carolyn Barry, community leader and volunteer; Patricia Perry, co-founder of the Patricia and Douglas Perry Foundation; and Bryan Stevenson, attorney and social justice advocate. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Jones).

A motion was made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Mr. Bradley to approve the dual employment of those named, finding each employment in the best interests of the University. The motion was approved by unanimous vote. (Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Jones).

Provost Agho presented information on the review of the College of Continuing Education and Professional Development and subsequent reorganization.

V. CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Mr. Bradley and seconded by Ms. Dickseski to approve the resolutions on 41 faculty appointments, 21 emeritus/emerita appointments, and one posthumous emeritus appointment. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Jones).

A motion was made by Mr. Bradley and seconded by Ms. Dickseski to approve the resolution on 26 administrative appointments. The motion was approved by a vote of three in favor with one recusal specific to Delegate Kenneth Plum (Bradley, Dickseski, Jones in favor; Corn abstain).

VI. REGULAR AGENDA

A motion was made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Mr. Bradley to approve the new policy on Course Materials Adoption. The policy provides guidelines for the adoption and use of low-cost and no-cost open educational resources in courses offered at the University. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Jones).

A motion was made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Mr. Bradley to approve a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Graphic Design in the College of Arts and Letters. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Jones).

A motion was made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Mr. Bradley to initiate four Bachelor of Science degrees in the Darden College of Education and Professional Studies: Early Childhood Education, Elementary Education, Special Education, and Career and Technical Education. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Jones).

A motion was made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Mr. Bradley to approve the discontinuation of the Master of Science degree program in Community Health in the College of Health Sciences. The program will be replaced by the Master of Public Health, which will begin in fall 2019. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Jones).

A motion was made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Mr. Bradley to approve the reorganization of the College of Continuing Education and Professional Development and renaming the College the School of Continuing Education. The reorganization is the result of a comprehensive review of the College. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Jones).

A motion was made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Mr. Bradley to rename the Department of Modeling, Simulation and Visualization Engineering the Department of Computational Modeling and Simulation Engineering. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Jones).