OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS

Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, June 11, 2020

MINUTES

An emergency meeting of the Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University was held on Thursday, June 11 at 11:00 a.m. to discuss or transact business statutorily required or necessary to continue operations of the Board and the discharge of its lawful purpose, duties and responsibilities. The meeting was held electronically using the Zoom application pursuant to Executive Amendment 28 to HB 29 (2020). Present from the Committee were:

Toykea S. Jones, Chair Lisa B. Smith (ex officio) Kay A. Kemper (ex officio) R. Bruce Bradley Robert S. Corn Unwanna B. Dabney Jerri F. Dickseski Alton J. Harris

Also present were:

Augustine Agho Judy Bowman Alonzo Brandon

Maurice D. Slaughter

Annette Finley-Croswhite

Kate Hawkins Casey Kohler Sebastian Kuhn Donna Meeks John Nunnery Tom Odom Brian Payne

September Sanderlin Narketta Sparkman-Key

Ariana Wright Jay Wright

The meeting was called to order at 11:01 a.m.

I. APPROVAL OF THE APRIL 23, 2020 MINUTES

Upon a motion made by Mr. Harris and seconded by Mr. Bradley, the minutes of the April 23, 2020 meeting were approved by roll-call vote (Aye: Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Slaughter, Smith; Nay: None).

II. CLOSED SESSION

The Chair recognized Mr. Corn, who read the following motion: "Madam Chair, I move that this meeting be convened in closed session, as permitted by Virginia Code Section 2.2-3711(A) (1), for the purpose of discussing the a dual employment." The motion was seconded by Ms. Jones and approved by roll-call vote (Aye: Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Slaughter, Smith; Nay: None).

III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND FOIA CERTIFICATION

At the conclusion of the Closed Session, the Chair reconvened the meeting and the following Freedom of Information Act Certification was read: "Any person who believes that the Committee discussed items which were not specifically exempted by law or not included in the motion, must now state where they believe there was a departure from the law or a departure in the discussion of matters other than that stated in the motion convening the closed session. I shall now take a vote of the Board. All those who agree that only lawfully exempted matters and specifically only the business matter stated in the motion convening the closed session were discussed in closed session say "aye." All those who disagree say "nay." The certification was approved by roll-call vote (Aye: Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Slaughter, Smith; Nay: None).

A motion was made by Ms. Smith and seconded by Mr. Harris to approve the dual employment of those named, finding each employment in the best interests of the University. The motion was approved by roll-call vote (Aye: Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Slaughter, Smith; Nay: None). Non-Board members present during the Closed Session were Dr. Agho, Ms. Bowman, Dr. Nunnery, and Mr. Odom.

IV. CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Mr. Harris and seconded by Ms. Kemper to approve 10 faculty appointments, 44 administrative appointments, and 24 emeritus and emerita faculty. The motion was approved by roll-call vote (Aye: Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Slaughter, Smith; Nay: None).

V. REGULAR AGENDA

A motion was made by Mr. Corn and seconded by Mr. Slaughter to approve proposed changes to three policies: Reappointment/Annual Review or Nonreappointment of Faculty, Tenure clock extension, and Promotion in Rank by roll-call vote. Changes to all three policies provide clarification and updated information and bring consistency with other policies. The motion was approved by roll-call vote (Aye: Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Slaughter, Smith; Nay: None).

A motion was made by Mr. Corn and seconded by Mr. Slaughter to approve the voluntary closure of four degree programs and nine certificate programs. The motion was approved by roll-call vote (Aye: Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Slaughter, Smith; Nay: None).

A motion was made by Mr. Corn and seconded by Mr. Slaughter to approve renaming the Center for Cybersecurity Education and Research (CCSER) the School of Cybersecurity. The motion was approved by roll-call vote (Aye: Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Harris, Jones, Kemper, Slaughter, Smith; Nay: None).

VI. INFORMATION ITEMS

Committee members received two requests for leave of absence without compensation, the Annual Report on Committee Actions, and the Report on Promotions in Rank Effective for 2020-21. Dr. Narketta Sparkman-Key, Director of the Center for Faculty Diversity and Retention, presented data on faculty and staff diversity and initiatives taken by Academic Affairs to recruit, retain, and support minority faculty. Examples of initiatives are the Excite the Dream Program, Mentoring Mondays, and Diverse Conversations. The Center has hosted and supported 61 events and impacted 1,766 faculty and scholars through these events and workshops. Provost Agho will provide additional updates on the initiatives taken to address recruitment and retention of minority faculty

Dr. Annette Finley-Croswhite, Director of the Center for Faculty Development, gave a presentation on strategies employed to evaluate teaching effectiveness and resources available to faculty. Teaching effectiveness is assessed through a combination of methods: student opinion surveys, portfolio review, and peer review. More than 1,100 faculty participated in collaborative events through the Center.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:03 p.m.