# OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS

# Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, June 13, 2019

# **MINUTES**

The Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University met on Thursday, June 13, 2019 from 11:00 a.m.-12:00 noon in Committee Room A of the Kate and John R. Broderick Dining Commons on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Board were:

R. Bruce Bradley Robert S. Corn Jerri F. Dickseski Alton J. Harris Michael J. Henry Toykea S. Jones Lisa Smith

Absent were: Unwanna B. Dabney

Maurice D. Slaughter

Also present were: Augustine O. Agho

Judy Bowman Kaitlin Chandler

Jane Dané Morris Foster Stephen Greiling Casey Kohler Sebastian Kuhn Brian Payne Jay Wright

## I. APPROVAL OF THE APRIL 25, 2019 MINUTES

The minutes of the April 25, 2019 meeting were approved.

#### II. CLOSED SESSION

The Committee recessed and reconvened in closed session to discuss recommendations for the appointment of two faculty members with tenure and the performance of a specific department.

### III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND VOTE ON RESOLUTIONS

The Committee convened again in open session. A motion was made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Mr. Corn to appoint Dr. Ted Gournelos, Associate Professor of Communication and Theatre Arts, and Dr. Andrei Seryl, Professor of Physics, with tenure. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Harris, Henry, Jones, Smith).

### IV. CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Mr. Bradley and seconded by Ms. Dickseski to approve the resolutions on 20 faculty appointments, 14 administrative appointments, and one emerita appointment. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Harris, Henry, Dickseski, Jones).

## V. REGULAR AGENDA

A motion was made by Mr. Harris and seconded by Ms. Dickseski to approve changes to the policy on Evaluation of Lecturers, Senior Lecturers, and Master Lecturers and Promotion of Lecturers and Senior Lecturers. The changes are intended to clarify the difference between the annual review and the in-depth evaluation for the lecturer ranks as well as the timing of the indepth evaluation. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Harris, Henry, Jones).

A motion was made by Mr. Harris and seconded by Ms. Dickseski to approve changes to the policy on Reappointment/Annual Review or Nonreappointment of Faculty. The changes are recommended so that the policy will be consistent with the changes made to the policy on Evaluation of Lecturers, Senior Lecturers, and Master Lecturers and Promotion of Lecturers and Senior Lecturers. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Harris, Henry, Jones).

A motion was made by Mr. Harris and seconded by Ms. Dickseski to approve changes to the policy on Promotion in Rank. The proposed changes are intended to clarify sections of the policy related to participation and voting requirements at the various levels of the review process and the addition of materials to a promotion candidate's file. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Harris, Henry, Jones).

A motion was made by Mr. Harris and seconded by Ms. Dickseski to approve changes to the policy on Tenure. The changes are recommended so that the policy will be consistent with the changes made to the policy on Promotion in Rank. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Harris, Henry, Jones).

### VI. INFORMATION ITEMS

Committee members received information on two requests for Leave of Absence without Compensation and the Annual Report on Committee Actions. In the report from the Provost, Austin Agho provided information on faculty promotions for 2019-20. In the report from the Vice President for Research, Morris Foster described the Commonwealth Cybersecurity

Initiative (CCI), for which ODU was just certified as the lead for one of four state-wide nodes. He also discussed ODU's opportunities through the new Virginia Institute for Spaceflight and Autonomy.