# OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS

# Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, June 14, 2018

## **MINUTES**

The Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University met on Thursday, June 14, 2018 from 11:00 a.m.-12:00 noon in Committee Room A of the Kate and John R. Broderick Dining Commons on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Board were:

R. Bruce Bradley Robert S. Corn Michael J. Henry Toykea S. Jones Maurice D. Slaughter

Lisa B. Smith

Rafia Haq (Student Representative)

Absent were: Jerri F. Dickseski

Alton J. Harris

Also present were: Augustine O. Agho

Muge Akpinar-Elci

Judy Bowman Jane Bray

Elizabeth Burns

Jane Dané

Gail Dickinson Morris Foster Laura Hill Sue Kimmel

Brian Payne Leryn Reynolds Lynn Ridinger Jay Wright Johnny Young

Casey Kohler

### I. APPROVAL OF THE APRIL 26, 2018 MINUTES

The minutes of the April 26, 2018 meeting were approved.

#### II. CLOSED SESSION

The Committee recessed and reconvened in closed session to discuss the initial appointment of four faculty members with tenure and an update from the last meeting on the application for tenure with no decision.

#### III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND VOTE ON RESOLUTIONS

The Committee convened again in open session. A motion was made by Mr. Slaughter and seconded by Ms. Jones to appoint four faculty members with tenure. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Henry, Jones, Slaughter).

Provost Agho informed Committee members of his recommendation to President Broderick to rescind the initial recommendation for tenure discussed at the last meeting. The faculty member may request a review of the decision by the President. If the President upholds the Provost's decision, a request could be made for further review by the Board of Visitors or its designated committee.

### IV. CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Ms. Jones and seconded by Mr. Corn to approve the resolutions on 32 faculty appointments, nine administrative appointments and five emeritus/emerita appointments. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Henry, Jones, Slaughter, Smith).

### V. REGULAR AGENDA

A motion was made by Ms. Jones and seconded by Mr. Corn to approve three proposed new degree programs: a Bachelor of Science in Exercise Science, a Bachelor of Science in Public Health, and a Master of Library and Information Studies. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Henry, Jones, Slaughter, Smith).

A motion was made by Ms. Jones and seconded by Mr. Corn to approve the revisions proposed for four policies: Evaluation of Lecturers, Senior Lecturers, and Master Lecturers and Promotion of Lecturers and Senior Lecturers; Reappointment or Nonreappointment of Faculty; Promotion in Rank; and Tenure. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Henry, Jones, Slaughter, Smith).

A motion was made by Ms. Jones and seconded by Mr. Corn to approve the request to rename the Darden College of Education to the Darden College of Education and Professional Studies. The current name does not reflect the breadth and depth of academic programs offered by the college. The motion was approved by unanimous vote (Bradley, Corn, Henry, Jones, Slaughter, Smith).

### VI. INFORMATION ITEMS

Committee members received the Annual Report on Committee Actions. In the report from the Provost, Austin Agho provided information on faculty promotions for 2018-19. In the report from the Vice President for Research, Morris Foster provided more detail on the digital shipbuilding appropriation. The appropriation represents an important investment from the state in the relationship between Newport News Shipbuilding, Siemens, the Virginia Ship Repair Association and ODU and will help the University expand in the advanced manufacturing domain and become an engine for regional economic development.