OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS

Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, June 2, 2022

MINUTES

A meeting of the Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University was held on Thursday, June 2, 2022, from 12:30-1:30 p.m. in the Board of Visitors Room in the Kate and John R. Broderick Dining Commons on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Committee were:

Lisa B. Smith, Chair Unwanna B. Dabney Jerri F. Dickseski Alton (Jay) Harris Kay A. Kemper P. Murry Pitts

Absent from the Committee: Carlton F. Bennett

Robert S. Corn Toykea S. Jones

Also present were: President Brian O. Hemphill

Augustine Agho Morris Foster Judy Bowman Amber Kennedy Donna Meeks Tom Odom Brian Payne Chad Reed

Ashley Schumaker Garrett Shelton Allen Wilson

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 12:35 p.m.

I. APPROVAL OF THE APRIL 21, 2022, MINUTES

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Mr. Harris, the minutes of the April 21, 2022, meeting were approved by roll-call vote (Ayes: Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None).

II. CLOSED SESSION

The Chair recognized Ms. Dickseski, who read the following motion: "Madam Chair, I move that this meeting be recessed, and, as permitted by Virginia Code Section 2.2-3711 (A) (1), we reconvene in closed session for the purpose of discussing recommendations for the appointment of four faculty members with tenure and the appointment of faculty representatives to Board of Visitors committees. The motion was seconded by Mr. Pitts and approved by roll-call vote (Ayes: Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None). In addition to the Board members present, the following individuals were present during closed session: President Hemphill, Provost Agho, Judy Bowman, Chad Reed, Ashley Schumaker, and Allen Wilson.

III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND FOIA CERTIFICATION

At the conclusion of the closed session, the Chair reconvened the meeting and the following Freedom of Information Act Certification was read: "Any person who believes that the committee discussed items, which were not specifically exempted by law or not included in the motion, must now state where they believe there was a departure from the law or a departure in the discussion of matters other than that stated in the motion convening the closed session. I shall now take a roll-call vote of the committee. All those who agree that only lawfully exempted matters and specifically only the business matter stated in the motion convening the closed session were discussed in closed session say "aye." All those who disagree say "nay." The certification was approved by roll-call vote (Ayes: Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None).

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Mr. Harris, the committee approved the appointment of the following faculty members with tenure: Dr. Laura Delbrugge as Professor in the Department of World Languages and Cultures, Dr. Kenneth Fridley as Professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Dr. Dharmakeerthi Nawarathna as Associate Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Dr. Christopher Rhea as Professor in the School of Rehabilitation Sciences by roll-call vote (Ayes: Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None).

Upon a motion by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Mr. Harris, the committee approved the following faculty representatives to Board of Visitors committees for the 2022-23 and 2023-24 academic years: Student Enhancement and Engagement, David Burdige; University Advancement, Lynn Tolle; Athletics, Corrin Gillis; and Audit and Compliance, Wie Yusuf (Ayes: Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None).

IV. CONSENT AGENDA

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Mr. Harris, committee members approved 25 faculty appointments, 12 administrative faculty appointments, five emeritus/emerita appointments, and the appointment of Dr. Anil Nair as the E.V. Williams Chair by roll-call vote (Ayes: Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None).

V. REGULAR AGENDA

Upon a motion made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Ms. Kemper, committee members approved proposed revisions to the Policy on Reappointment/Annual Review or Nonreappointment of Faculty and proposed revisions to the Policy on Tenure by roll-call vote (Ayes: Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None). The proposed revisions will be reviewed by the Governance Committee and presented to the Board for approval at the September meeting

Upon a motion made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Ms. Kemper, committee members approved the proposed Charter for the Academic and Research Advancement Committee by roll-call vote (Ayes: Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None). The proposed Charter will be reviewed by the Governance Committee and presented to the Board for approval at the September meeting.

Upon a motion made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Ms. Kemper, committee members approved the creation of a School of Supply Chain, Logistics, and Maritime Operations by roll-call vote (Ayes: Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Kemper, Pitts, Smith; Nays: None). The purpose of the new school is to have a central unit where supply chain, logistics, and maritime academic programs and research efforts can be offered and coordinated through one central administrative location that has the responsibility of enhancing the coordination, development, and delivery of supply chain, logistics, and maritime programming at Old Dominion University.

VI. INFORMATION ITEMS

The committee received the Annual Report of Committee Actions and the Report on Promotions in Academic Rank Effective for 2022-23. Provost Agho presented an overview of faculty demographics for tenured/tenure-track faculty and non-tenure track faculty, an analysis of promotion and tenure, faculty separation data for 2017-2022, and the faculty demographics trend from 2011-2022.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:28 p.m.