OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS

Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Thursday, September 15, 2022

MINUTES

A meeting of the Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University was held on Thursday, September 15, 2022, from 2:15-3:20 p.m. in the Board of Visitors Room in the Kate and John R. Broderick Dining Commons on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Committee were:

Toykea S. Jones, Chair Kay A. Kemper, Vice Chair R. Bruce Bradley (ex officio) P. Murry Pitts (ex officio)

Brian K. Holland

E.G. (Rudy) Middleton, III Armistead D. Williams, Jr.

Also present from the Board: Jerri F. Dickseski

Absent from the Committee: Robert A. Broermann

Also present were: President Brian O. Hemphill

Augustine Agho Morris Foster Bruce Aird Orlando Ayala Judy Bowman Alonzo Brandon Gail Dodge Nina Gonser Jamie Hunt Casey Kohler Donna Meeks Alicia Monroe John Nunnery Brian Payne

September Sanderlin Shannon Robinson Ashley Schumaker Don Stansberry

Chad Reed

Allen Wilson

The meeting was called to order by the Chair at 2:15 p.m.

I. APPROVAL OF THE JUNE 2, 2022, MINUTES

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Dr. Williams, the minutes of the June 2, 2022, meeting were approved by unanimous vote (Ayes: Bradley, Holland, Jones, Kemper, Middleton, Pitts, Williams; Nays: None).

II. CLOSED SESSION

The Chair recognized Ms. Kemper, who read the following motion: "Madam Chair, I move that this meeting be recessed, and, as permitted by Virginia Code Section 2.2-3711 (A) (1), we reconvene in closed session for the purpose of discussing recommendations for an honorary degree and the appointment of one faculty member with tenure. The motion was seconded by Mr. Pitts and approved by unanimous vote (Ayes: Bradley, Holland, Jones, Kemper, Middleton, Pitts, Williams; Nays: None). In addition to the Board members present, the following individuals were present during closed session: President Hemphill, Provost Agho, Vice President Foster, Judy Bowman, Nina Gonser, Alicia Monroe, Chad Reed, Ashley Schumaker, and Allen Wilson.

III. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND FOIA CERTIFICATION

At the conclusion of the closed session, the Chair reconvened the meeting and the following Freedom of Information Act Certification was read: "Any person who believes that the committee discussed items, which were not specifically exempted by law or not included in the motion, must now state where they believe there was a departure from the law or a departure in the discussion of matters other than that stated in the motion convening the closed session. I shall now take a roll-call vote of the committee. All those who agree that only lawfully exempted matters and specifically only the business matter stated in the motion convening the closed session were discussed in closed session say "aye." All those who disagree say "nay." The certification was approved by roll-call vote (Ayes: Bradley, Holland, Jones, Kemper, Middleton, Pitts, Williams; Nays: None).

Upon a motion made by Mr. Bradley and seconded by Mr. Pitts, the committee approved the award of an honorary degree for Alton (Jay) Harris, distinguished news anchor and writer, by unanimous vote (Ayes: Bradley, Holland, Jones, Kemper, Middleton, Pitts, Williams; Nays: None).

Upon a motion made by Mr. Bradley and seconded by Mr. Pitts, the committee approved the appointment of the following faculty member with tenure by unanimous vote: Dr. Adam Eckerd, Associate Professor in the School of Public Service in the Strome College of Business (Ayes: Bradley, Holland, Jones, Kemper, Middleton, Pitts, Williams; Nays: None).

IV. CONSENT AGENDA

Upon a motion made by Mr. Pitts and seconded by Ms. Kemper, committee members approved 42 faculty appointments, 71 administrative faculty appointments, and three emeritus/emerita appointments by unanimous vote (Ayes: Bradley, Holland, Jones, Kemper, Middleton, Pitts, Williams; Navs: None).

V. INFORMATION ITEMS

The committee received the Report on Promotions in Academic Rank Effective for 2022-23.

Dr. Orlando Ayala, SACSCOC Faculty Lead for Compliance and Associate Professor of Engineering Technology, presented an update on the SACSCOC Reaffirmation of Accreditation. The Reaffirmation occurs every 10 years. There are 17 core requirements covering mission, governance and administration, faculty, student learning and achievement, and financial resources. The Reaffirmation is comprised of two components: Compliance Certification (presenting the past) and Quality Enhancement Plan (presenting the future). The on-site visit will be April 17-20, 2023. Board members may be asked to meet with the reviewers and respond to questions during the on-site visit.

Dr. Shannon Robinson, Associate Vice President for Research and Executive Director of the ODU Research Foundation, gave an overview of how the university uses the Research Foundation to submit proposals on behalf of the university and accepts and administers awards.

Dr. John Nunnery, Associate Vice President for Research, gave a presentation on ODU's standing in the Carnegie Classification and prospects for future rounds of the classification.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:20 p.m.