## APPROVED BY THE COMMITTEE - 12/9/20

# OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS Academic and Research Advancement Committee Minutes Wednesday, September 16, 2020

# **MINUTES**

A meeting of the Academic and Research Advancement Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University was held on Wednesday, September 16, 2020 at 2:00 p.m. to discuss or transact business statutorily required or necessary to continue operations of the Board and the discharge of its lawful purposes, duties and responsibilities. The meeting was held electronically using the Zoom application pursuant to § 4-0.01(g) of Chapter 1289 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly. Present from the Committee were:

	Toykea S. Jones, Chair Lisa B. Smith R. Bruce Bradley <i>(ex officio)</i> Robert S. Corn Jerri F. Dickseski
Absent from the Committee:	Carlton F. Bennett Unwanna B. Dabney Alton (Jay) Harris
Also present from the Board:	Murry Pitts
Also present were:	John R. Broderick Augustine Agho Judy Bowman Alonzo Brandon Jane Dané Gail Dodge Bridget Groble Ray Hogge Casey Kohler Donna Meeks Earl Nance Tom Odom Amanda Skaggs Don Stansberry Jay Wright Nancy Xu

The meeting was called to order at 2:00 p.m.

# I. APPROVAL OF THE JUNE 11, 2020 MINUTES

Upon a motion made by Ms. Smith and seconded by Ms. Dickseski, the minutes of the June 11, 2020 meeting were approved by roll-call vote (*Aye: Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Jones, Smith; Nay: None*).

#### II. CONSENT AGENDA

A motion was made by Ms. Dickseski and seconded by Mr. Corn to approve the appointment of 12 faculty, nine administrative faculty, three named chairs, and two emeritus and emerita faculty. The motion was approved by roll-call vote (*Aye: Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Jones, Smith; Nay: None*).

#### **III. INFORMATION ITEM**

Committee members received two requests for leave of absence without compensation.

#### IV. CLOSED SESSION

The Chair recognized Ms. Smith, who read the following motion: "Madam Chair, I move that this meeting be recessed, and, as permitted by Virginia Code Section 2.2-3711(A) (1) and 2.2-3705.1 (1), we reconvene in closed session for the purpose of discussing faculty representatives to Board of Visitors committees, a dual employment, and a faculty member's appeal of a severe sanction." The motion was seconded by Ms. Dickseski and approved by roll-call vote (*Aye: Bradley, Corn, Dickseski, Jones, Smith; Nay: None*). In addition to the Board members in attendance, President Broderick, Provost Agho, Judy Bowman, Gail Dodge, Ray Hogge, Donna Meeks, Earl Nance, Jay Wright, and Nancy Xu were present during Closed Session.

# V. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND FOIA CERTIFICATION

At the conclusion of the Closed Session, the Chair reconvened the meeting and the following Freedom of Information Act Certification was read: "Any person who believes that the Committee discussed items, which were not specifically exempted by law or not included in the motion, must now state where they believe there was a departure from the law or a departure in the discussion of matters other than that stated in the motion convening the closed session. I shall now take a vote of the Committee. All those who agree that only lawfully exempted matters and specifically only the business matter stated in the motion convening the closed session were discussed in closed session say "aye." All those who disagree say "nay." The certification was approved by roll-call vote (*Aye: Bradley, Corn, Jones, Smith; Nay: None*).

A motion was made by Ms. Smith and seconded by Mr. Bradley to approve the faculty representatives to Board of Visitors committees: Academic and Research Advancement, Nina Brown; Administration and Finance, Marc Ouellette; University Advancement, David Burdige; and Student Enhancement and Engagement, James Rhoades. The motion was approved by roll-call vote (*Aye: Bradley, Corn, Jones, Smith; Nay: None*).

A motion was made by Ms. Smith and seconded by Mr. Bradley to approve the dual employment of those named, finding each employment in the best interests of the University. The motion was approved by roll-call vote (*Aye: Bradley, Corn, Jones, Smith; Nay: None*).

A motion was made by Ms. Smith and seconded by Mr. Bradley to uphold President Broderick's decision on December 13, 2019 to impose a severe sanction on a faculty member, Dr. Nancy Xu, Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry. The motion was approved by roll-call vote (*Aye: Bradley, Corn, Jones, Smith; Nay: None*).

The meeting was adjourned at 3:23 p.m.