DRAFT – SUBJECT TO COMMITTEE APPROVAL

OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Special Emergency Meeting Friday, June 12, 2020

MINUTES

A special emergency meeting of the Executive Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University was held on Friday, June 12, 2020, at 11:00 a.m. The meeting was called by the Rector for the purpose of electing additional members and alternates to the Board's Nominating Committee. The meeting was held electronically via the Zoom application pursuant to Executive Amendment 28 to HB 29 (2020). Present from the Committee were:

	Lisa B. Smith, Rector R. Bruce Bradley Robert S. Corn Jerri F. Dickseski Larry R. Hill Toykea S. Jones Kay A. Kemper Pamela C. Kirk
Absent from the Committee:	Carlton F. Bennett
Also in attendance from the Board:	Yvonne Allmond Unwanna Dabney Alton J. Harris Ross Mugler Maurice Slaughter Armistead Williams
Also present were:	John R. Broderick, President Alonzo Brandon Greg DuBois Giovanna Genard Donna Meeks R. Earl Nance

CALL TO ORDER

The Rector called the meeting to order at 11:00 a.m. and explained that the meeting was necessary in order to elect additional members and alternates to the Board's Nominating Committee. Four of the nine current committee members (Mr. Bradley, Ms. Jones, Ms. Kemper and Ms. Kirk) have become candidates for office and must step down from the committee. Current alternates Mr. Harris and Mr. Mugler have become members of the Committee, leaving two vacancies on the Committee and the two alternate positions vacant.

ELECTION OF ADDITIONAL NOMINATING COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES

Following a brief discussion Mr. Hill made a motion to add Ms. Allmond and Mr. Slaughter to the Board's Nominating Committee. The motion was seconded by Ms. Dicksesk and approved by roll-call vote (Aye: Allmond, Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Hill, Jones, Kemper, Kirk, Mugler, Slaughter, Williams; Nay: None).

A motion was then made by Ms. Jones that Ms. Dabney and Mr. Decker serve as alternates to the Committee. The motion was seconded by Mr. Harris and approved by roll-call vote (Aye: Allmond, Bradley, Corn, Dabney, Dickseski, Harris, Hill, Jones, Kemper, Kirk, Mugler, Slaughter, Williams; Nay: None).

The Rector thanked the Committee for their willingness to meet on short notice and said that she would send out an updated list of the Nominating Committee and the bios of the nominees for the committee's meeting on June 15 at 3:00 p.m.

With no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 11:09 a.m.