OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS NOMINATING COMMITTEE MEETING

Monday, June 15, 2020

MINUTES

An emergency meeting of the Nominating Committee of the Board of Visitors of Old Dominion University was held on Monday, June 15, 2020, at 3:00 p.m. The meeting was held electronically via the Zoom application pursuant to Executive Amendment 28 to HB 29 (2020). Present from the Committee were:

Lisa B. Smith, Rector Yvonne Allmond Carlton F. Bennett Robert S. Corn Jerri F. Dickseski Alton J. Harris Larry R. Hill Ross Mugler Maurice Slaughter

Also in attendance from the Board: R. Bruce Bradley

Unwanna Dabney Peter G. Decker, III Toykea S. Jones Kay A. Kemper Pamela C. Kirk Armistead Williams

Also present were: John R. Broderick, President

Donna Meeks R. Earl Nance

CALL TO ORDER AND MOTION FOR CLOSED SESSION

The Rector called the meeting to order at 3:02 p.m. and recognized Mr. Hill, who made the following motion, "Madam Rector, I move that this meeting be recessed and, as permitted by Virginia Code Section 2.2-3711(A)(1), we reconvene in closed session for the purpose of discussing candidates for Board office." The motion was seconded by Mr. Harris and approved by roll-call vote (Aye: Allmond, Bennett, Corn, Dickseski, Harris, Hill, Mugler, Slaughter; Nay: None).

In addition to the Board members in attendance, President Broderick and University Counsel Earl Nance were present during closed session.

RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION AND FOIA CERTIFICATION

At the conclusion of Closed Session the Rector reconvened the meeting and the following Freedom of Information Act Certification was read: "Any person who believes that the Board discussed items which were not specifically exempted by law or not included in the motion, must now state where they believe there was a departure from the law or a departure in the discussion of matters other than that stated in the motion convening the closed session. I shall now take a vote of the Board. All those who agree that only lawfully exempted matters and specifically only the business matter stated in the motion convening the closed session were discussed in closed session say "aye." All those who disagree say "nay." The certification was approved by roll-call vote (Aye: Allmond, Bennett, Corn, Dickseski, Harris, Hill, Mugler, Slaughter; Nay: None).

SELECTION OF PROPOSED SLATE OF OFFICERS FOR RECOMMENDATION TO THE BOARD

The Chair called for votes on each of the officer positions, beginning with the position of Secretary. Mr. Mugler moved for approval of Ms. Toykea Jones for Secretary. The motion was seconded by Mr. Hill and approved by roll-call vote (Aye: Allmond, Bennett, Corn, Dickseski, Harris, Hill, Mugler, Slaughter; Nay: None).

Mr. Hill moved for approval of Mr. Bruce Bradley for Vice Rector. The motion was seconded by Ms. Dickseski and approved by roll-call vote (Aye: Allmond, Bennett, Corn, Dickseski, Harris, Hill, Mugler, Slaughter; Nay: None).

Ms. Kay Kemper and Ms. Pam Kirk were nominated for the position of Rector. The Chair called for a vote on each candidate. Mr. Slaughter moved approval of Ms. Kay Kemper for Rector. The motion was seconded by Ms. Allmond and a roll-call vote was taken with five in favor and four opposed (Aye: Allmond, Dickseski, Harris, Slaughter, Smith; Nay: Bennett, Corn, Hill, Mugler).

Mr. Mugler moved approval of Ms. Pam Kirk for Rector. The motion was seconded by Mr. Hill and a roll-call vote was taken with four in favor and five opposed (Aye: Bennett, Corn, Hill, Mugler; Nay: Allmond, Dickseski, Harris, Slaughter, Smith).

The Report of the Nominating Committee, to be included in the agenda for the meeting of the Board on June 18, 2020, will be as follows:

Rector – Ms. Kay Kemper Vice Rector – Mr. Bruce Bradley Secretary – Ms. Jones

With no further business to discuss, the meeting was adjourned at 3:38 p.m.