[ skip to content ]

Toggle Mobile Menu

News @ ODU

More Information about this image

You Visit Tour. Webb Lion Fountain. June 1 2017. Photo David B. Hollingsworth

Colleges Present Annual Achievement Awards to Faculty and Staff

As the 2012-13 school year comes to a close, Old Dominion University's six academic colleges have recognized members of their faculty and staff with awards for achievement.

Here is a wrap-up of the awards for each college:

College of Arts and Letters

Robert L. Stern Award for Outstanding Teaching - David Earnest, associate professor of political science

Charles O. and Elisabeth C. Burgess Award for Outstanding Research - Glen Sussman, professor of political science

Joel S. Lewis Faculty Award for Outstanding Mentoring - Agnes Fuller-Wynne, senior lecturer of music

Dean's Award for Excellence in Interdisciplinarity - Peter Schulman, professor of French

Dean's Award for Outstanding Service - Qui Jin Hailstork, associate professor of history

Adjunct Faculty Teaching Award - Elizabeth Leeor

Staff Member of the Year - Linda Hero, English department

College of Business and Public Administration

Anne Scott Daughtrey Faculty Research Award - Ali Ardalan, associate dean

Ann Scott Daughtrey Faculty Teaching Award (tenure track) - Ling Li, professor of supply chain management

Ann Scott Daughtrey Faculty Teaching Award (non-tenure track) - Michelle Carpenter, instructor of marketing

Ann Scott Daughtrey Faculty Teaching Award (adjunct faculty) - Aimee Mellon-Nisius, adjunct instructor of marketing

Outstanding Service Award - John Ford, Eminent Professor of marketing

Faculty Advising Award - Sara Russell-Riggs, lecturer of maritime and supply chain management

Ph.D. Mentor Award - William Q. Judge, professor of management

Administrative/Professional Faculty Award - Megan Jones, program manager, Department of Urban Studies and Public Administration

Classified Staff Member of the Year Award - Lesley Robinson, executive assistant

Darden College of Education

Teaching Innovation and Excellence Award - Michael Kosloski, assistant professor of STEM education and professional studies

Publications Award - Zhu Xihe, assistant professor of human movement sciences

Instructional Publications Award - Sharon Raver-Lampman, professor of communication disorders and special education

Service Award - Kathleen Levingston, assistant professor of counseling and human services

Frank Batten College of Engineering and Technology

Excellence Award in Teaching - Nathan Luetke, senior lecturer in engineering technology

Excellence Award in Research - Dean Krusienski, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering

Excellence Award in Advising - Stacie Ringleb, assistant professor of mechanical engineering

Excellence Award in Engagement - Rafael Landaeta, associate professor of engineering management and systems engineering

Excellence Award in Support Operations - June Blount, program support technician, mechanical and aerospace engineering

College of Health Sciences

Outstanding Adjunct Faculty Teaching Award - Kathie Zimbro, School of Nursing

Outstanding Excellence in Teaching Award - Jackie Sharpe, senior lecturer of community and environmental health

Outstanding Staff Award - Linda Wray, administrative coordinator, School of Nursing

Gene W. Hirschfeld Faculty Excellence Award - Kimberly Adams Tufts, associate professor of nursing

College of Sciences

Distinguished Research Award - Patrick Hatcher, professor of chemistry and biochemistry; Charles Hyde, professor of physics; Kent Carpenter, professor of biological sciences; and Alex Bochdansky, associate professor of ocean, earth and atmospheric sciences

Early Career Distinguished Research Award - Cathy Lau Barraco, assistant professor of psychology, and Yan Peng, assistant professor of mathematics and statistics

Distinguished Teaching Award (adjunct) - Debbie Crofford, mathematics and statistics; Christina Steel, biological sciences; and Beverly George, psychology

Distinguished Teaching Award (lecturer) - Lee Land, lecturer of mathematics and statistics; Lisa Blum, lecturer of mathematics and statistics; and Tatyana Lobova, lecturer of biological sciences

Distinguished Teaching Award (tenure track) - Holly Gaff, assistant professor of mathematics; Mark Havey, professor and Eminent Scholar of physics; and Michelle Kelley, professor of psychology

Outstanding Faculty Advisor of the Year Award - Doug Mills, visiting assistant professor of biological sciences; Pinky McCoy, lecturer of chemistry and biochemistry; and Janet Brunelle, senior lecturer of computer science

Outstanding Staff Member of the Year Award - Marla Harvey, Department of Biological Sciences; Delicia Malin, Department of Physics; and Sheila Hegwood, Department of Mathematics and Statistics