Pending Residency Decisions
Students with pending domicile decisions are responsible for paying tuition for at least the in-state rate by the tuition deadline. Once the domicile decision is made, if the student is classified at the out-of-state rate, the difference between the in-state and out-of-state rate will be due immediately. Do not wait until the final domicile decision is made to pay tuition!
Apply for In-State Tuition
In-state tuition privileges is only granted to those who apply for in-state tuition. Students should begin the application process at least 21 days before the term. Under no circumstances can a request be considered after the first day of classes. State law prohibits retroactive consideration of domicile (residency). The application will require you to provide valid documentation of your eligibility. Students whose status changes with the University, or who have not been enrolled for one year or longer must reapply for in-state tuition status.
To apply for in-state tuition rates, please review the University's policy on residency determination and complete the Application for In-State Tuition (paper form also available from the Registrar's Office in Rollins Hall). The completed form should be submitted to the Office of the University Registrar online, in person, or by fax prior to the first day of classes for the term in question.
Before classes start for the term (recommended to start at least 3 weeks before).
University Registrar, 1009 Rollins Hall, Old Dominion University, Norfolk VA 23529-0053.
Fax to University Registar at (757) 683-5357
Active duty military, activated guard or reservist members, or guard or reservist members mobilized or on temporary active orders for six months or more, who are residing in Virginia, are eligible for the in-state tuition rate. To be eligible, the active duty military member must apply for the in-state tuition rate using the Application for Active Duty/Veteran Tuition Rate.
Spouses and dependent children of active duty military who may qualify for the Military Dependent Tuition Benefit are strongly encouraged to contact the Office of the University Registrar or the appropriate base representatives for full information and application forms. A Military Spouse/Dependent Tuition Benefit Form and a copy of the military member's orders to Virginia must be submitted to the Office of the University Registrar prior to beginning classes.
Effective Fall 2020, any student who attended high school for at least two years in the Commonwealth of Virginia and either:
- Graduated on or after July 1, 2008, from a public or private high school or program of home instruction in the Commonwealth or
- Passed, on or after July 1, 2008, a high school equivalency examination approved by the Secretary of Education; and
- Unless exempted by state law, has filed Virginia income tax returns for at least two years prior to the date of registration or enrollment, or in the case of a dependent student, at least one parent, guardian, or person standing in loco parentis has done so; and
- Registers as an entering student or is enrolled in a public institution of higher education in the Commonwealth will be eligible for in-state tuition regardless of their citizenship or immigration status.
- Students with current F, H3, J, or M visas are not eligible, in accordance with the Code of Virginia §23.1-506(A)(10).
Students meeting the above criteria may apply for in-state tuition rates using the "Application for In-State Tuition - High School Completer Form" (also available on the Registrar Forms website). Non-degree students who wish to be considered for in-state tuition rates must submit the completed application with their non-degree entry form.
Has your student status changed?
If your status changes with the University you must submit a new application for in-state tuition. For example, if you change from non-degree to degree-seeking, undergraduate to graduate student, or there is a change in graduate program, you must re-submit.
Need to appeal your residency decision?
It is the responsibility of the student to establish or to file an appeal to change his or her residency classification prior to the start of classes for the term in question.
Frequently Asked Questions
Establishing Residency (SCHEV)
The State Council of Higher Education for Virginia provides general, descriptive information about establishing Virginia domicile in order to qualify for in-state tuition. Inquiries about institutional tuition classification decisions, or explanations involving special circumstances, should be directed to the institution a student plans to attend.
How are the rules and procedures established for considering individuals as "in-state" students for tuition purposes?
The conditions by which a student may be considered "in-state" for purposes of tuition classification are set forth by Chapter 23.1-500--510. Although individuals may be considered state residents for voting and other legal purposes after being in the state for a short period of time, the Code outlines specific additional requirements that must be met to be classified as "in-state" for tuition purposes.
How long must I be domiciled in Virginia before I can be considered "in-state" for tuition purposes?
By law a student or the student's parent(s) must be domiciled in Virginia for at least 12 continuous months immediately preceding the first day of classes.
Yes, but you must maintain the Virginia connections you have established, such as claiming any income as Virginia income for tax purposes. Any interruption or change in these connections could be sufficient cause to negate whatever domicile has been established and could result in having to reestablish domicile upon returning to Virginia. You should check with the institutional tuition classification officer before you leave the state.
Yes, but the mere fact that you are a student is not sufficient evidence to consider you "in-state." Physical presence and intent must be demonstrated.
If I marry a Virginia resident or live with a relative who is a Virginia resident, am I considered an "in-state" student?
Not necessarily. Each individual must establish his or her own domicile as prescribed by tuition law.
Yes, recipients of the Tuition Assistance Grant (TAG) and other Virginia student aid programs must be domiciliary residents.
Non-U.S. citizens are legally capable of establishing domicile where they have been granted the status of lawful permanent residents by the U.S. Immigration Service. Immigrants may claim, and seek to prove, eligibility for in-state tuition rates as Virginia domicile as any citizen of the United States. The burden is on the student to establish, clearly and convincingly, his or her domicile in Virginia for the requisite one-year period.
Are dependents and spouses of active duty military personnel always required to pay out-of-state tuition at public institutions?
No. The Code of Virginia provides some exceptions under which in-state tuition or reduced tuition rates might be available. Effective Fall 2006, all dependents of active duty military personnel who are assigned to a permanent duty station in Virginia, and who reside in Virginia, are eligible to receive in-state tuition to the Commonwealth's colleges and universities, so long as they are continuously enrolled in the institution. Military spouses and dependents must APPLY for this benefit.
Can the non-military spouse establish Virginia domicile separate from the domicile of the active duty military spouse?
Yes. The non-military spouse must meet the same domicile requirements as any new resident to the state.
To establish domicile, are active duty military persons required to meet the one-year residence requirement?
No. Effective July 1, 2007, active duty military who are assigned to a Virginia military installation and reside in Virginia are eligible for the in-state tuition rate. Military students must APPLY to receive the in-state rate.
No. Applicants must petition separately at each institution. Each institution must have appropriate documentation to support its classification decision.
Each public institution of higher education has established an appeals process for students who question decisions on eligibility for in-state charges. The appeals process includes an immediate review and a final administrative review. Due process procedures shall be in writing and shall include time limitations in order to provide for orderly and timely resolutions of all disputes. Any party aggrieved by a final administrative decision shall have the right of review in the Circuit Court for the jurisdiction in which the institution is located.
Military Spouse/Dependent Tuition Benefits
Spouses and dependent children of active duty military who may qualify for the Military Dependent Tuition Benefit are strongly encouraged to contact the Office of the University Registrar or the appropriate base representatives for full information and application forms. All forms are available on the University Registrar Forms page.
A Military Spouse/Dependent Tuition Benefit Form and a copy of the military member's orders to Virginia must be submitted to the Office of the University Registrar prior to beginning classes.
After the application for the benefit has been processed, the student will be notified in writing that they will receive in-state tuition based on this benefit.
The tuition benefit applies as long as the student is continuously enrolled at the University.
No. The Military Dependent Tuition Benefit, once approved, applies as long as the student is continuously enrolled at the University. The benefit does NOT transfer to another institution. If the student transfers, eligibility must be re-established at that institution.
To establish eligibility if the Military Spouse/Dependent Tuition Benefit does not apply, the spouse must be employed full-time in Virginia, and pay Virginia income taxes on all taxable income.
If the spouse does not meet the qualifications as set forth in this provision, the spouse may qualify in one of the following three ways:
- Live in the state for one year and for that year have a Virginia driver's license, vehicle registration, and voter registration.
- The military person changes his/her legal state of residence to Virginia (which entails paying Virginia state taxes on his/her military income, obtaining a Virginia driver's license, vehicle registration and voter registration), in which case the spouse could become eligible for the in-state tuition immediately.
- Live in the state for one year, make the equivalent of a full-time income ($10,300) and file Virginia state taxes on that income. If you do this, you do not have to change driver's license, vehicle registration and voter registration. This is known as the military exception rule.
Dependent Student Definition: Any student who is listed as a dependent on the federal or state income tax return of his or her parent or legal guardian or who receives substantial financial support from his or her parents or legal guardian.