[ skip to content ]

Toggle Mobile Menu

Teaching & Learning

More Information about this image

Students walking outside near Brock Commons.

Department Chair

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR & CHAIR


Office Manager

Office Manager

Fiscal Tech


Graduate Program Directors

M.S.Ed. in Elementary Education with Initial Licensure

M.S.Ed. for Licensed Teachers

M.S.Ed. in Reading

M.S.Ed. for Secondary Teachers with Initial Licensure

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

Ph.D. in Curriculum & Instruction

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

Math Specialist Endorsement Co-Directors

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR


MonarchTeach Director & Coordinator

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR


Undergraduate Program Directors

B.S. in Early Childhood Education

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

B.S. in Elementary Education


Departmental Faculty


Tom Bean

    PROFESSOR
    3117 EDUCATION BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-7077
  • tbean@odu.edu

Jori Beck

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    3113 EDUCATION BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3392
  • jbeck@odu.edu

Brandon Butler


Jamie Colwell

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR & CHAIR
    3124 EDUCATION BLDG
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3283
  • jcolwell@odu.edu

Dr. Helen Crompton

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    3141 EDUCATION BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-7076
  • crompton@odu.edu

Judith Dunkerly-Bean

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    3134 EDUCATION BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-7079
  • jdunkerl@odu.edu

Angela Eckhoff, PhD

Mary Enderson

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    3106 EDUCATION BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5580
  • menderso@odu.edu

Tamu Crisden

    MONARCHTEACH MASTER TEACHER
    EDUCATION BLDG
  • NORFOLK, VA 23509
  • 757-683-3284
  • tcrisden@odu.edu

Melva Grant Ph.D.

    PROFESSOR
    3107 EDUCATION BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5725
  • mgrant@odu.edu

Mary Gregory

    MONARCHTEACH MSTR TEACHER
    4131 EDUCATION BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5176
  • mlgregor@odu.edu

Abha Gupta

    PROFESSOR
    3112 EDUCATION BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-6074
  • agupta@odu.edu

Kristie Gutierrez PhD

    ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
    3108 EDUCATION BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4975
  • kgutierr@odu.edu

KaaVonia Hinton

Jennifer Kidd

    MASTER LECTURER
    3142 EDUCATION BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3248
  • jkidd@odu.edu

Lea Lee

    PROFESSOR
    3111 EDUCATION BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4801
  • lxlee@odu.edu

Jihea Maddamsetti

    ASSISTANT PROFESSOR
    3114 EDUCATION BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5492
  • jmaddams@odu.edu

Sueanne Mckinney

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    3133 EDUCATION BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-4917
  • smckinne@odu.edu

Lastarra "Dr Starrbe" Bryant

    LECTURER
    3101 EDUCATION BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3507
  • llbryant@odu.edu

Lauren Bowers

    MONARCH TEACH PROGRAM COORD
    4132 EDUCATION BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23509
  • 757-683-7048
  • llaughli@odu.edu

Kelly S. Rippard

    SENIOR LECTURER
    3105 EDUCATION BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5277
  • krippard@odu.edu

Jomo Mutegi PhD

    Associate Professor of Science Education
    3125 EDUCATION BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3616
  • jmutegi@odu.edu

Demetrice Smith-Mutegi

    Assistant Professor
    3103 EDUCATION BLDG
  • NORFOLK, VA 223529
  • 757-683-3349
  • dsmithmu@odu.edu

Jody Sommerfeldt

    SENIOR LECTURER
    3040 EDUCATION BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-3944
  • jsommerf@odu.edu

Yonghee Suh

    PROFESSOR
    3109 EDUCATION BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-6697
  • ysuh@odu.edu

Kristine Sunday

    ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
    3135 EDUCATION BUILDING
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5330
  • ksunday@odu.edu

Latanya Sutphin

    MASTER TEACH FOR MONARCHTEACH
    135 OCEANOGRAPHY&PHYSICS BLDG
  • NORFOLK, VA 23529
  • 757-683-5201
  • lmsutphi@odu.edu